1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speedo cluster display - dead cells :(

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by syko89, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. syko89
    Offline

    syko89 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 15, 2013]
    Started the car up last night and noticed a row of cells on the central display between the speedo and rev counter have died :(

    Ive had a quick search but can't find anything about a DIY fix. Is there anything you can do?

    Its the red text type display from a 2006 model not the newer colour display.

    Cheers, Chris
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 26, 2014]

  3. jdp1962
    Offline

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,957
    Likes Received:
    880
    [Jan 15, 2013]
    This was a regular fault with B5 models, and the only solution with those was to replace the whole instrument panel.

    I've no idea if that would still apply with B6/7 models though.
    #2
  4. syko89
    Offline

    syko89 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 15, 2013]
    Thanks, will be gutted if i have to replace the whole panel!

    Is that just the screen itself or the clocks too?
    #3
  5. V6 Quatt
    Offline

    V6 Quatt Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    138
    [Jan 15, 2013]
    I have some clocks taht are compatible and have full DIS in excellent condition.

    PM if your interested
    #4
  6. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,920
    Likes Received:
    528
  7. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,920
    Likes Received:
    528
    [Jan 15, 2013]
    to change clocks aint a plug an play
    you need them codeing for the immoblizer
    #6
  8. V6 Quatt
    Offline

    V6 Quatt Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    138
    [Jan 15, 2013]
    You could use the internals??
    #7
  9. Wrath
    Offline

    Wrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Jan 15, 2013]
    I believe B5NUT took his out and resoldered it.
    #8

Share This Page