1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speedo Accuracy...

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by johnnywb, Mar 31, 2006.

  1. johnnywb

    johnnywb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Prompted by the thread about the M42, found an interesting characteristic in my Focus the other day. If you reset the average speed on the computer whilst holding a certain speed, it resets to match the GPS speed displayed on my Snooper, not the speed displayed on my speedo.

    Does anyone have any ideas why? If the computer knows i'm going at a certain speed (as shown by the GPS), why show a different (slower) speed on the speedo?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Beerzo

    Beerzo Masa'warty 3200... Talk To Me!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    I take it the Speedo is not Digital?

    All analogue speedo's seem to be in accurate, I am not sure why all makes of car i have ever had or friends of had have all been in accurate. They tend ti under read up to 30 then after that they over read.

    Dunno if it is to keep actual speeds down. So that drivers are going at there indcated say 70 mph when they are really only doing 67 mph. GPS is deffo more accurate than your standard speedo.

    Can anyone explain how the speedo reading is produced is it direct from the gear box or something. That may explain it as the gear box should i think, spin quciker than what the wheels are doing. Maybe this produces the inaccuracy, as at ceratin speeds, the way the figure is produced is accurate but after a certain point it becomes increasinly in accurate after this point.

    Does this make any sense as i am half asleep at my desk at work. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/sleep.gif
     
  4. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    It's an EU directive I think so that drivers cannot claim their speedo was under reading.
    All analogue speedos over read by anything up to about 7%. The one in our B6 is atrocious, it reads 92 when actually doing 85.
    It'll be built into the analogue meter, which has to convert the digital info to an analogue speedo reading
     
  5. ChriS3

    ChriS3 hud at ye bam

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,234
    Likes Received:
    17
    If you enter the codes and get the digital speed display on the climate control, would this be the same as the analogue display?

    Haven't tried it myself.
     
  6. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    It's in km's so not very useful
     
  7. marriedblonde

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    6

    You also need to bear in mind that different brands of tyre even though the same size i.e. 225/40/18 actually have a different circumference.

    They also need to factor in tyre wear.

    Because of these things speedo's are inaccurate.

    J.
     

Share This Page