1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speed sensor fault code

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by liquids3, Mar 1, 2013.

  1. liquids3
    Offline

    liquids3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Mar 1, 2013]
    P0501 code speed sensor gone on mine,where is this based?,(going into the gearbox),not to sure in where it goes (is).my speedo has stoped working,and also fuel gauge,not fun.and help appreciated
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2013
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 29, 2014]

  3. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Mar 1, 2013]
    Is that an anagram.... ;)
    #2
  4. liquids3
    Offline

    liquids3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Mar 1, 2013]
    sorry s3 dave spelling corrected
    #3
  5. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Mar 1, 2013]
    Not sure if they are off the speed pulse on these, never seen a connector going into the box..
    #4
  6. liquids3
    Offline

    liquids3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Mar 1, 2013]
    no that's where i am lost.can't seem to find any info on where they go or connect : (
    #5
  7. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
  8. liquids3
    Offline

    liquids3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Mar 1, 2013]
    #7
  9. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Mar 1, 2013]
    #8
  10. liquids3
    Offline

    liquids3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    931
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Mar 1, 2013]
    yep must be located there then,or similar place.thank's for your help,could'nt see where they fit onto.
    #9
  11. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,490
    Likes Received:
    1,544
    [Mar 1, 2013]
    Speedo sensor is towards the bulkhead side of the box.... (back of the engine bay...)

    Your fault code equates to a 16885 code...
    16885/P0501/001281 - Ross-Tech Wiki

    Implausible signal fault is typically when the sensor values are out of bounds of what the ECU is expecting... normally indicative of a wiring fault or dying sensor...

    <tuffty/>
    #10

Share This Page