1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speed camera detectors

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)' started by Liquidfusion, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. Liquidfusion
    Offline

    Liquidfusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Jan 28, 2014]
    So I finally went ahead with a different purchase of the A4 B8 2013 with the sat nav and all the goodies :)

    Does any body have any solutions to getting a speed camera detector working without having to mount it on the dash with a power cable trailing off?
    My old mercedes I used to have the kenwood double din with sat nav which I could upload speed cameras to, on this MMI Navigation 3G Plus I don't think it's possible.

    I was thinking of buying maybe a tomtom, uploading the speed cameras to it and leave it in the centre console box where the 12v power outlet is, would it pick up a signal? I don't have a tomtom to test.
    Ideally it would turn on when i start the engine, and turn off when engine is off.

    Anybody have any custom solution which doesn't have an intrusive power cable connected to the car dash?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. gr4z
    Offline

    gr4z Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 28, 2014]
    I use CamerAlert from PocketGPS on my iPhone, I think there is an Android version as well. Mounted in a brodit dashboard mount works for me :) only issue is the speakers on the I5 are a little small to hear the warning beeps when the S4 is growling...
    #2
  4. Liquidfusion
    Offline

    Liquidfusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Jan 28, 2014]
    Ah yes i have something like that, but doesn't it mean you have to take the phone and mount it everytime you get into your car, and then unmount? is there a power cabling running from the front ciggerate lighter to your phone? I hate cables!
    #3
  5. gr4z
    Offline

    gr4z Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 28, 2014]
    I use an active mount from Brodit - it makes it very easy to mount and unmount the phone. Yes there is a cable but its very discrete and connects into the point in the centre arm rest.
    #4
  6. gr4z
    Offline

    gr4z Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 28, 2014]
    I use an active mount from Brodit - it makes it very easy to mount and unmount the phone. Yes there is a cable but its very discrete and connects into the point in the centre arm rest.
    #5
  7. Av4nt
    Online

    Av4nt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,025
    Likes Received:
    214
    [Jan 28, 2014]
    you know you could always adhere to the speed limit...and hey presto ...no need for them to be alerted to you ;)
    #6
  8. Liquidfusion
    Offline

    Liquidfusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Jan 28, 2014]
    haha I always try to, but there will always be times where I will have concentration lapses
    #7
    Av4nt likes this.
  9. Av4nt
    Online

    Av4nt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,025
    Likes Received:
    214
    [Jan 28, 2014]
    Dont we all :p
    #8
  10. DAYTONA500
    Offline

    DAYTONA500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2013
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    527
    [Jan 28, 2014]
    I use a Road Angel professional connected which has an internal rechargeable battery capable of 8 hrs between charges.
    #9
    SI-W85 likes this.
  11. quattrokid
    Offline

    quattrokid Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    90
    [Jan 28, 2014]
    This is my deterant against cameras :)

    [​IMG]

    :) lol !!
    #10
  12. Anthony566
    Offline

    Anthony566 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Feb 4, 2014]
    There is a power connector under the arm rest you don't need to use the one in the ash tray !!
    #11
  13. Liquidfusion
    Offline

    Liquidfusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Feb 22, 2014]
    So I ended up buying a Tomtom Go 540 and changed the Navcove (firmware) to 9.061 which is meant for the Tomtom Go 750 and it works delightful!
    Have it connected to the 12v centre arm console, auto powers up as I start my engine and auto powers off when Ignition is off.

    Warns me when I am approaching a speed camera, picks up a GPS signal perfectly :)

    Already have the Audi MMi 3G plus sat nav so no need to mount the Tomtom to dashboard or windscreen, and no obtrusive cables running anywhere
    #12
  14. Soft lad
    Offline

    Soft lad Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 22, 2014]
    I'm with Av4nt TBH, just concentrate on what your'e doing. Remember that advert, when your'e in your car, be what you are, a driver. Through the course of my employ I see whayyyyy to much carnage and all down to a silly mistake and totally avoidable. Save your money and pay a tad more attention.
    #13
  15. Liquidfusion
    Offline

    Liquidfusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Feb 22, 2014]
    I always pay full attention when driving, but anything extra that helps I'm all for it.
    #14
  16. Soft lad
    Offline

    Soft lad Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 22, 2014]
    So I have a question. Your'e driving along a motorway at 80 and you see a 50 sign. What do you do? What do you think they are flashing for?
    #15
  17. Liquidfusion
    Offline

    Liquidfusion Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Feb 22, 2014]
    Well if I'm doing 80 on a 70 (motorway), and I see a sign for 50, I would slow down and do 50-55mph.
    As I've said before, no one is a perfect driver and everyone will have a lapse of concentration from now and again.

    If I do over 10% of the speed limit and don't see the camera, the warning sound will let me know to slow down.

    Speed camera detectors and there to help you be more aware. Not to break the speed limit and drive like a twat.
    #16
  18. SI-W85
    Offline

    SI-W85 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2013
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    200
    [Feb 22, 2014]
    I've got a snooper and a road angel they are very good as they connect in to the database that the police have to, which say exactly to the nearest 10 yard where they are allowed to stop with there cameras as they are not allowed to just pull up and park anywhere it has to be a designated area and it is recorded on a database which these detectors get there info from which is handy as it will tell you where there may be a camera van.
    #17
    Liquidfusion likes this.
  19. Soft lad
    Offline

    Soft lad Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Feb 22, 2014]
    Sorry, that wasn't neccasarilly aimed at you, just a general question.
    #18
    Liquidfusion likes this.

Share This Page