1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speed Camera detector

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by neil stait, Feb 21, 2014.

  1. neil stait
    Offline

    neil stait Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Can anybody recommend a quality speed camera detector ?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 2, 2014]

  3. Daveotto
    Offline

    Daveotto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    389
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Now why would you want one of those, surely you are not thinking of breaking the speed limit...........chepaest one I have seen is put your sensible head on whenever you get in the car.
    #2
    Flibble and Scotty2011 like this.
  4. neil stait
    Offline

    neil stait Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    If you go into a unfamiliar area or the government parasites drop a speed limit for a village where nobody lives quickly even the best driver can be caught out
    #3
    snowfree52 and h5djr like this.
  5. Dan_G
    Offline

    Dan_G Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2013
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    67
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Speed camera aren't 'detectable' as such, they are usually loaded onto a database on something like a road angel or similar.

    Laser and radar detectors are available, but if you get a warning for laser, you're too late.

    Speed cameras are also bright yellow by law, so keeping an eye on the road signs and a look out for them is probably a better bet.
    #4
  6. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    575
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    I've used a few different ones over the years and the best I've found is a Sat/Nav that allows you to load the database provided by the Personal GPS World website. This database is updated every couple of weeks with new and removed cameras. I use the database loaded into a basic TomTom Sat/Nav which I have the RH end of my windscreen byt if you prefer to could put in anywhere in the car and it will beep when you are approaching a normal, average speed or traffic light camera. It you have it so that it's visible it will also tell you the the speed limit and your current speed. Obviously it will also work as a normal Sat/Nav and allow you to load any of you own or downloaded POIs. This is the website for the PGPSW:

    Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras - Speed Camera Download

    Not being able to load my own POIs and up-to-date camera locations is the main reason why I'm not keen on the Audi built-in option.
    #5
  7. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    717
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Little known fact: Speed cameras being yellow is only the law for those cameras where the money goes directly to the local police authority (or something like that). There is something to do with where the money goes anyway - point is that it's still possible to have a speed camera not painted yellow AFAIK. They are rare though.
    #6
  8. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    717
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    I can load POIs into mine, though I haven't tried it yet. I think it's a connect feature.
    #7
  9. Joetidman
    Offline

    Joetidman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    729
    Likes Received:
    371
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    #8
    DAYTONA500 and PilotAudi like this.
  10. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    717
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    #9
  11. Daveotto
    Offline

    Daveotto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    389
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    #10
    Joetidman likes this.
  12. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    575
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    I agree slowing down before hand is the best way and the PGPSW database gives you the location and with the TomTom you can set how far away from the camera you want to be warned, giving you plenty of time to slow down gradually rather than hard breaking when you see a yellow box. If you have set a route you can also set it to only respond to a camera in your direction of travel rather than one on the other side of a dual-carriageway.

    I used a Road Angle for a while but found that the warning was always spoken rather just the short 'beep-beep' that I get from the TomTom which on some roads means the warning has hardly finished before you get the next one. The latest Road Angle units may give better options that the one I had but my £100 TomTom is a good Sat/Nav as well. It is always easy to switch off the database in France for example where the use of such a database is illegal. Strangly you can still purchase French maps with the locations on. So you can take your eyes of the road to look at a map but you're not allowed to have a unit that tells you whilst watching the road.
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2014
    #11
    Joetidman likes this.
  13. wills_1990
    Offline

    wills_1990 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    If you have an iPhone there is a great Sat Nav app called Waze.

    It allows the users to add locations where there are cameras mobile or static as well as accidents etc.

    Very good little app, im not sure if it is available for Android though.
    #12
    Bill Dee likes this.
  14. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    717
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    It is, Google bought Waze last year.
    #13
  15. PilotAudi
    Offline

    PilotAudi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,353
    Likes Received:
    478
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Talex were good .
    #14
  16. nervus
    Offline

    nervus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    I use a lazer star pro! As the others have said use a GPS type for fixed sites but for speed guns, scamera vans etc, the lazer pro is perfect.

    You see, normally by the time a detector detects you've been painted by lazer, its too late, they have you!

    This thing scatters the guns signal which relies on a return bounce back frequency. As the device scatters the signal, they cannot get a fixed reading on your speed.

    It alarms a buzzer in the cabin to tell you you're being targeted and as long as you slow down to the desired speed, turn it off and allow them to then get a fix, there is nothing they can do about it.

    Its only those who have taken the urine by leaving them turned on and hooning past way over the limit that have been pursued! Like the guy who did 5 passes in wales at over 100mph! Idiot.

    They dont play by the rules so Im not either! Saved me 3 times in last 2.5 yrs- ish! Its normally some silly old cnut volunteer wanna be traffic cop who sit in the vans anyway!
    #15
  17. alistairm1
    Offline

    alistairm1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Not got my 8V yet but from what I have read it is possible to add your own POI file to the built-in satnav.
    Needs a registration to MyAudi, then you can upload a POI file to that website and it will be converted to a format which works with the Audi satnav.
    The web software writes the converted files to an SD card which is then put in the car. The POIs can then be copied into the MMI.

    It's on page 6 of the MyConnect operating manual
    #16
  18. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    575
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    I assume from what you say you have to have the option (WB4) Technology package with Mobile phone preperation - High with Audi Connect at £1,795. My TomTom does the same for speed cameras and other POI's and cost me £100.
    #17
  19. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    717
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Yes of course, but that assumes that the POI feature is the only thing you'd buy Connect (or the Tech Pack) for - which isn't the case for most people.
    #18
  20. alistairm1
    Offline

    alistairm1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    The manual implies that all you need is some form of satnav which works with the MMI.
    If you had Connect you would, quite rightly, expect to update the POIs without the SD card.

    In fact on Page 5 it states that the personal POIs are "Also available for A3 vehicles with MMI Navigation System plus without Audi connect"

    As I have said, this is only from what I have read, and I may have misunderstood the definition of "MMI Navigation System plus".
    My 8V hasn't been built yet :3sadwalk:
    #19
  21. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    575
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    If someone is having that option anyway that's fine. Personally I would have no real use for anything that it offers and therefore it would work out an expensive way to get speed camera information.
    #20
  22. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    717
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    I think the 'plus' is still tech pack, but not connect. I'll have to give it a go. Whether it can give warnings when approaching POIs is another matter of course!
    #21
  23. alistairm1
    Offline

    alistairm1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    I'll be very interested to see the results.
    I'm expecting to see the cameras appear on the display, but the warning alert is another matter, as you say.
    #22
  24. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    717
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Yes, I've found some screenshots which suggest you can edit the icon that the POI displays as on the map, and you can change what categories of POI show on the map too to remove the ones you aren't bothered about and declutter a bit, but I've not seen anything about warnings. Might have a play tonight and try loading a camera database into my car.
    #23
  25. andy203
    Offline

    andy203 181 BHP

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    56
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    I can recommend Snooper products, warn for
    •Gatso & Truvelo Cameras
    •Watchman
    •MCS (Multi Camera System)
    •Speedcurb
    •SPECs average speed
    •Roadwork cameras
    •DS 2
    •Accident Hotspots
    •High Risk Zones
    •Mobile Laser
    •Mobile Safety Vans
    •Temporary Gatso
    •Truvelo Cameras
    •Congestion Charge Cameras
    •Digital Cameras
    its saved me a couple of times, still got a clean licence. The data base is very good even new road work camera systems appear on the data base very quickly. Have got a Laser Pod as well it seams to pick up the scatter well in advance.

    Not that I break any speed limits!
    #24
  26. pat15312
    Offline

    pat15312 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    125
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    For an OEM plus solution, try using the ability to upload custom POIs to satnav. You can download a database of camera types and locations for a service called pocketGPSworld.co.uk
    #25
  27. Daveotto
    Offline

    Daveotto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    389
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Making a link to another current thread.......it is illegal to use any type of speed camera detection system in France, but police do not have the jurisdiction to enter your car and check your device without a warrant, so you will be ok at long as you don't hand the device to the gendarme if stopped and they suspect you gave speed camera detection on.
    #26
  28. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    575
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    My current one is mounted on the right-hand side of my windscreen, just inside the window. If I get stopped in France I must remember not to lower my windows otherwise the Gendarme could reach it with his hand!!!
    #27
  29. Daveotto
    Offline

    Daveotto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    389
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Technically that would be illegal for them to do that, but doubt you would have much chance of winning that argument in a court.
    #28
  30. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    575
    [Feb 21, 2014]
    Perhaps I could disable the system then send the window back down if hits something and trap his hand in the window. Perhaps that would not be such a good idea, he would probably smash the windows with the butt of his pistol!!!
    #29
  31. royalsteve68
    Offline

    royalsteve68 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    136
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    yep, even hiding cameras. Most cameras should be outlawed. I am sure some cause accidents, where someone slams on the brakes and car driver behind has no time to react. Of course that stat will never be found as it will be hidden in the "driving too close" stat, etc.
    #30
  32. SimonIG10
    Offline

    SimonIG10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    As someone who now has been done twice in 4 months on average speed cameras I need to start using Pocket GPS again! I have it on my Iphone and it works great. You need to take out the subscription for updates but if you get lucky and submit a new camera location you get a free subscription for years.
    #31
  33. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,527
    Likes Received:
    575
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    That's exactly what I did. The database deleted a camera near me and I told them it was still in use, sent a photo and details of the location. They verified the details and I got a free lifetime subscription. I tend to update mine every couple of weeks by taking it out of the car and connecting it to my desktop. PGPSW also have a lot of POI lists that you can download for different fuel station, hotels and all sorts of things. These are all free to download.
    #32
  34. Flibble
    Offline

    Flibble Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    73
    [Feb 25, 2014]
    Don't use one, no convictions. Keeping a watchful eye open and not razzing through villages has served me well.
    #33
  35. steeve
    Offline

    steeve Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    255
    [Feb 25, 2014]
    I agree driving within the limits or keeping a close eye out for cameras etc. But in modern cars and with so much to do, particularly in a strange town or city it's so easy to creep over the limit without realising.
    #34
  36. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    717
    [Feb 25, 2014]
    This is why I wish the A3 had the speed limit option that the golf gets - the system supports it, it's crazy it doesn't come on the A3.
    #35
  37. andy203
    Offline

    andy203 181 BHP

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    56
    [Feb 25, 2014]
    That's one thing I will miss when I change from my Golf Gtd, in April.
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2014
    #36
  38. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    717
    [Feb 25, 2014]
    Miss it from my old car too. I hope if they bring it out it can be retrofitted. The ACC is an OK substitute for it for the moment though.
    #37
  39. BGS
    Offline

    BGS Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Feb 25, 2014]
    Interesting, how does the Golf system work? Is it from the SatNav or road sign recognition, does it limit your speed or is it just warning sound/light.
    #38
  40. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,487
    Likes Received:
    717
    [Feb 25, 2014]
    You set it yourself, just like a cruise control. It physically limits your speed, unless you press the accelerator past the kickdown point. In my old car, it just had 2 modes - cruise or limit. You set the speed on both in the same way.
    #39
    BGS likes this.
  41. JohnnyM100
    Offline

    JohnnyM100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    167
    [Feb 25, 2014]
    Ok there is no physical speed restriction but you can set the speed warning that bleeps as you and flashes up on the DIS when you exceed a user defined speed.

    John.
    #40

Share This Page