1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speech control of the RNS-E

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by s8craig, May 15, 2007.

  1. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [May 15, 2007]
    Well I've just tested the newly released software hack for the RNS-E to enable speech control. If you have a Multi Function Steering Wheel and and RNS-E with or without the telephone kit, you can control your NAV/radio/CD etc.

    You would need a mic for the any system without a phone kit and a rewire for those people with phone preps.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. phil1978
    Offline

    phil1978 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 15, 2007]
    Sounds like another thing for you to do when I come up to get the others bits done, LOL.
    #2
  4. cjp2k
    Offline

    cjp2k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 15, 2007]
    So would this work on mine with just a software update?
    #3
  5. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [May 15, 2007]
    Do you have a MFSW? you would require a rewire of the mic routing.
    #4
  6. Beddie
    Offline

    Beddie Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 15, 2007]
    Hiya Craig,

    Firstly a big thanks for the rns-e fitment last week mate, great job and a great bit of kit! :icon_thumright:

    Would i be right in thinking that i'll just need the software update and a wire running to the phone mic to get the SDS operative?

    Just been reading the SDS features in the (very thick lol!) manual you sorted out for us and it looks to be a neat feature...:cool:

    Steve
    #5
  7. Niknak
    Offline

    Niknak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 16, 2007]
    Steve

    You only got the unit fitted last week?? what you been waiting for lol bet you wish you'd had it sooner?
    Ian

    Craig wish I had a mfsw:bye: Hows the business going?
    #6
  8. cjp2k
    Offline

    cjp2k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 16, 2007]
    Yeah I do mate, its the silver sportback you fitted on Sat.. Didnt know as you had fitted the Mic etc if I would require the re wire or if it was already done.

    Cheers

    Chris
    #7
  9. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [May 16, 2007]
    Hi Chris

    Yeah I said I had a voice control RNS-E for you, but that had gone, now we can reprogram RNS-E for voice control, but it was after Saturday. Your wiring would need to be redone to add the voice control and then your unit reprogrammed. Also Tel voice control needs to be turned off so the RNS-E controls everything or it clashes.
    #8
  10. cjp2k
    Offline

    cjp2k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 16, 2007]
    Ah rite ok then, I will have a think about it, but I tempted, will be in contact shortly with you if thats ok mate!

    Cheers

    Chris
    #9
  11. mickhep
    Offline

    mickhep New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 16, 2007]
    Hi Craig
    I've got mfsw and phone prep with my 07 rns.I dont have any other discs other than the 07 sw.Reading Navplus it says you have to reflash with older sw can I do this with the 07 disk.
    Perhaps you could give a little write up on how to update to full SDS as the Navplus forum appears to be a little misleading unless its me being thick.!

    Cheers
    Mick
    #10

Share This Page