1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Spark plug gap

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Suzy84, Jun 28, 2013.

  1. Suzy84
    Offline

    Suzy84 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 28, 2013]
    Hi I have a Audi a3 1.8 tfsi s line and just brought some ngk platinum spark plugs and I was just wondering what gap they should be set at???
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 24, 2014]

  3. Lewis583
    Offline

    Lewis583 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    74
    [Jun 28, 2013]
    What ever they come out the box, so long as they aren't visually damaged or there aren't any plugs with visibly bigger gaps than others. You only need to mess with plug gaps on fairly modded motors.
    #2
  4. Suzy84
    Offline

    Suzy84 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 28, 2013]
    Ok cheers.
    #3
  5. Chillout
    Offline

    Chillout Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Jun 28, 2013]
    I wondered this when I did my plugs apparently its a bit old Skool to talk about plug gaps these days
    not had much petrol cars and don't normally keep a car long enough for plugs
    however I have been told they are pre gapped throw away your gauges then.
    #4
  6. Lewis583
    Offline

    Lewis583 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    901
    Likes Received:
    74
    [Jun 29, 2013]
    Don't get me wrong, there has been some testing done regarding altering plug gaps on engines that have been extensively tuned/modded. But on a standard engine you won't notice any difference so isn't worth doing in my opinion.
    #5
  7. wuta3
    Offline

    wuta3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    342
    [Jun 29, 2013]
    Ure telling me, I got a gapping tool and feeler guage and popped the new plugs out of the box ... wtf ... pre gapped.
    #6
  8. Chillout
    Offline

    Chillout Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    596
    Likes Received:
    48
    [Jun 29, 2013]
    Yup that's what the master tech said when I got my update done as he asked about the condition of the plugs I had just done them and asked if the gap was pre set they were genuine plugs.
    #7

Share This Page