1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony GT headunit to Audi A3

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by EMDOSMIKE, Aug 17, 2006.

  1. EMDOSMIKE
    Offline

    EMDOSMIKE Burnin' the clutch

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 17, 2006]
    OK gents I've got a sony GT head unit in my audi. Took me ages to get the cable to connect it. Anyway got it going but barely. All the speakers work but the sub doesn't! Any1 know how to get it going?

    Thanks:music:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. Olly_K
    Offline

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 17, 2006]
    I take it you used an ISO block connector ? have a look at the original one and see if there are any wires which dont connect on the other end of the block
    #2
  4. EMDOSMIKE
    Offline

    EMDOSMIKE Burnin' the clutch

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 17, 2006]
    Everything looks connected. Am i right in thinking that the concert system might have some sort of special direct link to the sub, Something that the sony system might not have?

    Thanks
    #3
  5. A3_Turbo
    Offline

    A3_Turbo Swaying towards IHI....

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 17, 2006]
    wen i had mine done i needed a bose adapter so that the sub nad amp all works

    hope that helps ?

    it isnt cheap by the way!


    Jason
    #4
  6. Jampublic
    Offline

    Jampublic Taking it easy..

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Aug 17, 2006]
    Got it working yet?

    So do we get to see a photo?

    I am interested to see how it looks!!
    #5
  7. FactionOne
    Online

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,236
    Likes Received:
    129
    [Aug 17, 2006]
    The factory sub (and rear-speakers AFAIK) run from a MOSF... er, "amp" - If you've just got the ISO power-block and ISO speaker-block plugged into the HU (the two large plugs), you haven't got the amp connected. The connection for that is one of the smaller plugs that connects above the other two (well, on the Concert HU anyway).

    IIRC (and as previously touched-on) there are two adapters available to connect an aftermarket HU to the Audi amp - one is for cars with Bose, the other for those with standard systems - they're both available from caraudiodirect.com and the like. However, (and again IIRC) they basically convert a speaker-level signal coming from the ISO speaker-block into a line-level signal for the amp. If you're anything like concerned about sound quality this isn't ideal.

    The best thing you can do (I'd say) is look at connecting the Audi amp to the pre-outs on your HU - I'd guess the connections are similar if not identical (beware, pinout is probably different even if the plugs are the same). I wouldn't have thought it would be a particularly complicated job - if you can maybe post some more details about the stereo (exact model number), and what connectors (colour, number of pins etc.) you have left over from the Audi loom; I'm sure I'm not the only person on here who'll have a stab at advising you what's what. [Worth noting of course that if you can, posting pics to go with your descriptions will probably expedite the process]

    Regards,

    Rob.
    #6
  8. col6821
    Offline

    col6821 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 17, 2006]
    Did you use an Autoleads ISO connector?
    I tried this with an Autoleads PC9-401 but got interferrence through the rear speakers as the headunit had a built in amp.
    At first the rears and sub didn't work as I hadn't connected the head unit switched feed (blue wire) to the autoleads lead.
    #7

Share This Page