1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SOMEONE PLEAASE HELP IN CAR PHONE 3.0 B7 A4

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Scottwilliamson, Sep 9, 2012.

  1. Scottwilliamson
    Offline

    Scottwilliamson New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    I have recently bought the 3.0 A4 s-line and i am curious about how to get the in car phone operational. I need to order the holder and the phone and where do i get this from and what exactly do i need to order. ??
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    If you've got the phone prep youve also got Bluetooth so don't necessarily need the holder as long as you've got rns-e sat nav or multi-function steering wheel to control the calls...
    #2
  4. Scottwilliamson
    Offline

    Scottwilliamson New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    What do you mean by the phone prep? i dont have the sat nav but i do have the multi function steering wheel.
    #3
  5. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    I presumed by 'in car phone' you have the blank plate either on the dash or in the armrest?
    #4
  6. Scottwilliamson
    Offline

    Scottwilliamson New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    its the one in the armrest.
    #5
  7. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    Cool. Then should be as simple as turning on the ignition, scan for bluetooth devices on your phone- usually comes up as Audi-UHV or similar in the list. Default pin is usually 1234 - should pair with phone then you can make receive calls through the cluster using steering wheel
    #6
  8. Scottwilliamson
    Offline

    Scottwilliamson New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    excellent thank you very much i will go and try that right now and see how i get on and let you know what happens.
    #7
  9. jdp1962
    Online

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,899
    Likes Received:
    861
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    Is this not covered in your owner's manual?
    #8
  10. Scottwilliamson
    Offline

    Scottwilliamson New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    probably i have not read it little bit due to laziness and i was on here anyway!
    #9
  11. Chris Norman
    Offline

    Chris Norman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    I was in the same situation last week. Get in the car and search with your phone. Passkey is 1234.
    #10
  12. Scottwilliamson
    Offline

    Scottwilliamson New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    Yeah I have got it to work now I was trying it before but putting 12345 as the pass key but 1234 worked fine. I was using an iPhone to do it with and to answer you still have to push the answer button on your phone or is there any other way.?
    #11
  13. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    You dial and answer using buttons on the steering wheel
    #12
  14. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    The left-hand thumb wheel pushes in as well as spins. Spin to choose from address book and push to dial. Push to answer a call too. Numbers/names appear in the DIS
    #13
  15. Scottwilliamson
    Offline

    Scottwilliamson New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 9, 2012]
    Excellent thanks very much
    #14
  16. fossie
    Offline

    fossie Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 10, 2012]
    Stupid question but how do you know if its bluetooth or not, mines in the armrest.... i did a scan on me phone but it didnt pick anything up!!
    #15
  17. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Sep 10, 2012]
    As far as I'm aware as I've never come across one that isn't - Bluetooth and phone prep always coexist as the phone module is standard and only difference is that phone prep includes a physical cradle.
    #16
  18. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Sep 11, 2012]
    The very earliest Audi phone module (in 2004) didn't have Bluetooth, but there's very few of them around - so it's a fair assumption that if there's a cradle you have Bluetooth.
    #17
  19. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Sep 11, 2012]
    The Bluetooth is only discoverable for a short time after turning the ignition on, so you have to turn the ignition on and then search for and pair with it straight away.
    #18
  20. Scottwilliamson
    Offline

    Scottwilliamson New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 26, 2013]
    does anyone know where you can get the phone that sits in the cradle ??
    #19
  21. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Feb 26, 2013]
    You buy the cradle that suits "your" phone, ie..if you have an iPhone, you buy the iPhone cradle.
    Cradles can be bought from the dealers for around £100.
    #20
  22. Scottwilliamson
    Offline

    Scottwilliamson New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 26, 2013]
    Where about can i get this iphone cradle ? You are speaking about the cradle that is in the armrest?
    #21
  23. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,288
    Likes Received:
    258
    [Feb 26, 2013]
    Your local Audi dealer, or a forum sponsor Stoke Audi
    #22
  24. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Feb 26, 2013]
    I think your a bit confused mate.
    The plate in your armrest, is what the cradle attaches to.
    So as said, you need the cradle that suits your brand phone, and as advised already by me and B5NUT, you can buy it from your local dealer, or from Stoke Audi on this site.

    Hope that helps fella.
    #23
  25. jdp1962
    Online

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,899
    Likes Received:
    861
    [Feb 26, 2013]
    Or you could just read your owner's manual, as I think I mentioned about six months ago.
    #24

Share This Page