1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Someone help please!!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by jay1, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. jay1
    Offline

    jay1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 8, 2013]
    I have had a fault regarding my camshaft position sensor I have now changed this and still have the same problem it's fine when it's cold as soon as the car has warmed up it's running rough at high revs it seems Fine ish but if I drive it at lower revs it's very hesitant and almost feels like one of the cylinders is not fireing it's just had new spark plugs could it maybe be a coil pack? If not what else I have just spent £90 on a sensor that has done nothing so don't really want to be spending anymore money for no good reason thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 21, 2014]

  3. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Mar 8, 2013]
    silly question, but was a a genuine audi one you bought?
    #2
  4. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    1,423
    [Mar 8, 2013]
    What was the actual fault code?

    <tuffty/>
    #3
  5. jay1
    Offline

    jay1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 8, 2013]
    No it was one from gsf
    #4
  6. jay1
    Offline

    jay1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 8, 2013]
    It was
    17746
    camshaft position sensor (g40) open or short to plus p1338
    #5
  7. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,914
    Likes Received:
    527
    [Mar 8, 2013]
    for sensors i always get oem
    iv had a few bad ones from gsf euro etc
    #6
  8. Mr.Matty
    Offline

    Mr.Matty New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 8, 2013]
    I would start tracing the cam positioning sensor wiring, look closely where wire looms split, and could be wearing into the wiring.
    #7
  9. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Mar 8, 2013]
    same here, every sensor i ever bought from GSF failed or did not work as it should
    #8
  10. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    1,423
    [Mar 8, 2013]
    Sounds more like a wiring issue to me... have you tested the wiring? that code is typical of a break in the wire or a fuse gone...

    <tuffty/>
    #9
  11. jay1
    Offline

    jay1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 8, 2013]
    No not checked the wiring as yet or fuse is the fuse located in the drivers side dash? Will have a look tomorow and hopefully that's it. There should be a thanks tuffty button on this forum!! :)
    #10
  12. jay1
    Offline

    jay1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 9, 2013]
    Checked all the wires as far as I could all fuses are ok but still getting symptoms and fault code could it be the new sensor or what else should I start looking at its driving me mad now!!
    Im also getting 12v accross the 2 outside terminals of the 3 pin plug that goes to sensor
    #11
  13. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,099
    Likes Received:
    1,423
    [Mar 9, 2013]
    Hummm...

    In the attached diagram it looks like it should take a 5v feed... there shouldn't be 12v on a sensor normally... it shares the 5v output from the ECU with the MAP sensor (ecu pin 98) and earth is picked up (from the point [44])

    The input for the cam sensor on the ecu is pin 86....

    You could try a new sensor or a n other from a working 20v if you have a mate willing to try that or you could try rewiring direct back to the ECU to eliminate the wiring altogether

    <tuffty/>

    Attached Files:

    • G40.jpg
      G40.jpg
      File size:
      92 KB
      Views:
      43
    #12
  14. jay1
    Offline

    jay1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 10, 2013]
    Ok thanks I will have a good look today at the wiring and see if I can see anything thanks everyone for all your help it's much appreciated as always
    #13

Share This Page