1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some of my mods so far

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Renbod, May 20, 2009.

  1. Renbod
    Offline

    Renbod Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Guy's,

    I've been a bit busy over the last few months so thought I'd share some pics of what I've been upto, let me know what you think.

    Cheers

    1st: Sub Install
    [​IMG]
    2nd: Stealth Amp
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    3rd: Dual Cup Holders
    [​IMG]
    I had to relocate the ESP switch when I added the LHD cupholder, I put it inside the cig lighter but I'm going to replace the switch with a TT one soon.
    [​IMG]
    4th: But I then needed a cig lighter to charge my sat nav so installed a 3way+usb charger into my ashtray (also added the 8ball as my OEM gear knob was a mess).
    [​IMG]
    5th: Smoked Swoosh Boost Guage
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    6th: HID's
    [​IMG]

    Next: Tyres for my freshly refurbed wheels before Stoner Park ;)
    #1
  2. A4 seanie
    Offline

    A4 seanie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice work man
    #2
  3. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    i like the idea of the cig lighter in the ashtray,
    #3
  4. RyanJonS4
    Offline

    RyanJonS4 Drive It Like You Stole It

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im sure the rs4 (and possibly all b7's) has the starter button where the cig lighter is in the b6, and the cig lighter under the ashtray cover with a smaller ashtray

    may be wrong though....just looking for pics now
    #4
  5. quattrojames
    Offline

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,885
    Likes Received:
    18
    :beerchug: to the twin cupholders!

    :)


    [​IMG]
    #5
  6. J7USS
    Offline

    J7USS Shuddup Foooool!!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    tidy little Sub install mate!

    How did you get round the door speakers etc?did you piggy back from the Bose amp speaker wires or you gone through the rear of the stereo still?
    #6
  7. Renbod
    Offline

    Renbod Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers for the comments guys.

    J7uss, the amps running straight off the head unit and just powering the Sub.

    The car came with a tape head unit so I swapped it out for the Sony DVD one, it means I can put loads of albums onto one DVD so I don't clutter my car with CD's plus I could always put some TV headrests/sun visors in if I fancy it.
    #7
  8. bluenose7467
    Offline

    bluenose7467 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ....now, could this be my second mod...and is it possible in an B6 S4 Avant.....???anyone know for sure that it can be done...?? (the first to come is a rear RS4 Anti-roll bar upon advice from a member on here...
    #8
  9. J7USS
    Offline

    J7USS Shuddup Foooool!!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep!!! it can be done...

    and my Rs4 ARB is being fitted today too....:aggressive:
    #9
  10. mikerd4
    Offline

    mikerd4 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2004
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    0
    Loving the rear sub, was only thinking about this myself the other day. Is it a custom job or is there anywhere that sells prebuilt versions?
    #10
  11. SmoothAssault
    Offline

    SmoothAssault Will design for mods

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    1
    I remember seeing a thread on the RS4 ARB, but a brief thread hi-jack never hurt anyone so...

    Quick questions:

    How much for the ARB?

    How much is it costing to have fitted?

    Cheers.
    #11
  12. bluenose7467
    Offline

    bluenose7467 New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    and to further hijack....how much for the starter button assembly, I have a sparky mate and a friend with a workshop...so most can be done in house so to speak....
    #12
  13. SmoothAssault
    Offline

    SmoothAssault Will design for mods

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh, and Renbod; really you needed to mount that fuse for the amp as close to the battery as possible.

    I used to have a Vibe Active 12 sub in one of my old motors, hooked it up exactly like you and every audio nut who spotted it said I should have put the fuse in the engine bay. I'm sure there is a good reason (I know I was told enough times) but I can't for the life of me remember it, haha.
    #13
  14. J7USS
    Offline

    J7USS Shuddup Foooool!!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats Right, the main power fuse is to protect the main power wire/feed...
    so it protects the Car. Withou a fuse could lead to some drastic melt down and has done before where its set the car alight!!!

    This is why you want the Fuse closest to the Battery as possible, I dont mean right on the clamp but say 4inches away is good enough. Least then all power will be cut before it can travel down a HOT line and melt everything in its way.

    My guy at the Audio shop says usually 18 inches but closer the better IMO.
    #14
  15. J7USS
    Offline

    J7USS Shuddup Foooool!!

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ill post a new tread with Part Numbers etc, I dont wanna get Bitch slapped for Hijacking..:)
    #15
  16. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yeah its better to have the fuse near the battery ish, usualy somewhere before it goes through the gromett into the cabin etc to protect the car from having a 4wg heating element running down it's length. I have seen soe serious damage due to that on the cars, and on the owners when they tried to pull the wires out by hand
    #16
  17. QuottroA4
    Offline

    QuottroA4 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi mate, had mine done the other week and the difference was noticable straight away. with sharpening things up it did highlight the need for some FSD's, ahem, in mean new shocks.. ;)

    Rich

    #17

Share This Page