1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Some new little bits for the interior .....

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Rob2k68, Apr 12, 2012.

  1. Rob2k68

    Rob2k68 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    400
    Just picked these up yesterday. Small but perfectly formed .....

    [​IMG]

    .....and fitted .....

    [​IMG]

    Also replaced the switch blanking plate on the right with this .....
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. minimadmotorman

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    9
    Oooo nice.
     
  4. Paullie

    Paullie Banana Menace!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    279
    Both bits look really sweet! It's the little details that make ALL the difference, well done Rob. :wub: xx
     
  5. AidenUK

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    43
    I want one of those s line thingy ma bobs, how much and where did you get that from?

    Looks smart.
     
  6. Rob2k68

    Rob2k68 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    400
    Thank you all :beerchug:

    Both bits came from CarStyle4you and were reasonably priced. Took about 3 weeks to arrive though as I guess they are made to order.
    What I really like is that they start out with 100% genuine Audi parts and then modify them so that the materials and finish are completely authentic. There's a decent choice of styles as well for both the glove box trim and the switch blanks.
     
  7. BBlackburn

    BBlackburn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    9
    Glad you got yours I already have that small blank cover but I have Audi rings on mine but the glove box cover never came numerous emails over 2-3 months finally got a refund I would never use them again. Not trying to put anyone of but I'd make sure they have the item on stock before you place your order with them.
     
  8. minimadmotorman

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    9
    Doesn't look like they do them for 2012 models. :( I'd be tempted by an ejector seat or oil slick button. :)
     
  9. welshwoody

    welshwoody Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    I bought the ejector seat one for mine last year, looks great and lights up with the others....
     
  10. Kelza

    Kelza MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User Audi RS3

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    515
  11. moag

    moag she's no d-turbo

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    821
    Likes Received:
    34
    Those illuminated glove box bits look like a good mod!
     
  12. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,187
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    I like the sline one, but I cant see the point of having a bose console button that basically does nothing if the grill have bose on anyway, but each to there own :)
     
  13. reepers

    reepers Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    15
    Are the switch blanking thingys easy to fit? no hardcore wiring involved is there haha
     
  14. Rob2k68

    Rob2k68 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    400
    Yes they're very straight forward. You have to take the radio out to gain access then just push the switch blank out from behind. The wiring piggy backs off the ESP switch so very much plug and play!
     
  15. Helifella

    Helifella Co-Driver ~ Hattie
    Moderator Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    137
    How would I go about removing the Headunit - I have the Concert Bose.
     
  16. BBlackburn

    BBlackburn Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    9
    4 radio keys slot them in then slide the head unit out.
     
  17. A3_Black_Edition

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    19
    Love the S-Line bit mate!

    I really like the look of the bose grills but not sure if they are really worth the £60..... They do look pretty cool though..

    Si
     
  18. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,267
    Likes Received:
    604
    I think i will be getting the Bose grills and the Sline glove box cover. looks quite nice

    Rob2k68; can you post up a pic of what the glove box looks like from the drivers seat? i want to get a bit of perspective of the S-Line cover from more of a distance
    Thanks
     
  19. quattro81

    quattro81 All the gear.. No idea

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    88
    Just add these now mate...

    [​IMG]
     
  20. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,267
    Likes Received:
    604
    I installed one of those a couple weeks back and i have to say it looks sweet in person... I am getting mine ordered very shortly!
     
  21. A3_Black_Edition

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    19
    Ah sod it, I think I will just get them.

    Cheers!
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Rob2k68

    Rob2k68 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    400
    Here you go Ash, looks better in the flesh tho the photo doesn't really do it justice :-

    [​IMG]

    @ Quattro 1981 - it was your post of those grilles on the 'Bose or not' thread that put me onto that website so cheers mate :icon_thumright:
     
  24. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,267
    Likes Received:
    604
  25. A3_Black_Edition

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    19
    Think the above is a tad much... stands out a bit.... each to there own though.

    Si
     
  26. audigex

    audigex Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    41
    My Quattro came with the word Quattro on the plate anyway.

    Tempted by the BOSE blanking plate, but am I right in saying that the start-stop button is there anyway? My car's a few hundred miles away at an airport right now, so I can't check.
     
  27. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,267
    Likes Received:
    604
    you think that stands out? you should see the illuminated glove box emblems...

    here is a taster

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  28. A3_Black_Edition

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    19
    Lol, that looks cool. I think it must be the up close pic that makes it stand out more....

    Si
     
  29. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,267
    Likes Received:
    604
    there are loads of designs but it is fairly steep in price for the small item that it is

    can see them all here: CarStyle4you
     
  30. A3_Black_Edition

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    19
    Yeah I think they are steep and there is only so much bose logos I think I need so I might just go for the grills.

    Si
     
  31. quattro81

    quattro81 All the gear.. No idea

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    88
    I have a quattro:wub: - so the quattro badge is stamped in nice and deep on the glove box rather than engraved (don't have a pic to hand right now!).. plus the location being right in front of your eyeline, I dont reckon the illuminated glovebox bit would look too good in the daytime. The speaker grilles are down in a dark part of the interior so they look alright any time of day.. When the LED's are off, the bit they shine through is kinda milky - I'll try and get a pic in a bit.. I also agree with A3_S-line, Bose overload on the logos! The speaker grilles are plenty
     
  32. quattro81

    quattro81 All the gear.. No idea

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    88
    Now just need the 2011 RNS-e.....:undwech:
     
  33. Rob2k68

    Rob2k68 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    400
    I was very tempted when looking to replace the Concert ii+ that came in mine, settled with the Symphony ii+ and a Dension Gateway 100 ipod connector instead. Was worried about the RNS-E attracting the wrong kind of attention which is a shame as it looks like a great piece of kit :blownose:. Think a remap of some sort will be the next thing .........:hubbahubba:
     
  34. The Governor

    The Governor Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    67
    I've got a Concert in my 2011 BE, not even a Concert II (how do they decide what to put in...?). What is the easiest/next best upgrade, like you although I'd like nan RNS-e I think the fitting is a bit too much aof a rigmarole...

    Does the Symphony II+ slot straight in, need coding etc?
     
  35. Rob2k68

    Rob2k68 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    400
    Yes it slots straight in but will likely need coding unless the car it came from has exactly the same equipment as yours Bluetooth,MFSW, etc also coding takes into account diesel or petrol and type of interior.

    My symphony ii+ came from eBay and had a dodgy screen so I replaced it with one from a TT.
     
  36. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,187
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    How can you not have a concert 2 in your 2011 BE, they dont fit older units anymore.

    I believe I have a concert 2+ available if anyone's interested :)
     
  37. The Governor

    The Governor Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    67
    It's probably my ignorance speaking, mine just says "Concert" on it and I'd assumed it would say "Concert II"? I don't even know what the difference between the I, II and II+ is - is there somewhere that states it?
     
  38. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,187
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    Single, double din, mp3 on cd, auxin compatibility, just newer units have of course different design & feature set :)
     
  39. The Governor

    The Governor Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    67
    Ah right, so mine is a single CD that plays MP3's, has the Aux in so is a Concert II? or II+? Does that mean it is double DIN as well? (which I think is a form factor for the cage that hodls it is that right?)

    P.S Rob2k68 - sorry for the gratuituous thread derail :beerchug:
     
  40. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,187
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    Double din was defacto from late 06/07 onwards.

    Sounds like a concert 2+, auxin is possible if its fitted of course.
     
  41. The Governor

    The Governor Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    67
    Cheers as ever NHN, I'm slowly learning :icon_thumright: I have the AUX in socket on mine so I guess that means I'm a 2+ :sm4:

    From what i understand then, I could physically fit an RNS-e without any major work to the dash, but I would need to get it coded...?
     
  42. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,187
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    Yes it would fit, but you'd need coding, rewiring of the auxin & the antenna system would need an upgrade for optimal reception, PM if interested :)
     

Share This Page