1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

So I get the fault code for camshaft adjuster....

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Seansy, Feb 20, 2011.

  1. Seansy
    Offline

    Seansy Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2011]
    ... and alarm bells begin to ring, I remember the horror stories from here about AVS and huge repair bills. I take it to my friend in Surrey, a good mechanic who doesn't billy bullsh!t me, and he takes it to a VAG specialist. Suggest to me that it's the tensioners and camchain which will need replacing. I'm happy for them to carry out the work and give them the go ahead.

    When tackling the work, they come across a small issue. Cambelt cover is FUBAR'd and the cambelt has started to fray. Plus the cambelt wasn't tightened correctly. They believe this could have also been a contributing factor in the cause of the cam chain and tensioners needing replacement.

    The cambelt is still well within safe parameters, and will only require tightening. Cambelt changed just before I purchased the car end of June 2010. About ten thousand miles. I know the garage and the garage owner personally too of this.

    What, if anything, can I have done? This is unacceptable in my eyes and the last garage should replace the cambelt and cambelt cover minimum as well as pay a fraction of the bill of this repair. Do I have a leg to stand on?

    Cheers in advance. I am not having a lot of fun with my S3 atm. But it happens!

    Seán
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    499
    [Feb 20, 2011]
    if i had a freyed belt it would get changed
    how can it be in safe parameters when its frayed ?
    as for garage replaceing it i dont think you stand a chance with that
    as its done 10k anyone could have tampered with it
    #2
  4. JS1500
    Offline

    JS1500 Howdy

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,168
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Feb 20, 2011]
    If you know the owner of the garage that did the cambelt change, tell him what's been found...
    #3
  5. Seansy
    Offline

    Seansy Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2011]
    when they were the last company to actually do a full service on the vehicle? no chance. Oil service was completed by AMD at end of Nov '10, wouldn't have needed to check anything else really and surely they would have stated if there was an issue if they looked? And in all honesty, when in ten thousand miles does a cambelt become loose?

    I do want to change the belt as I don't like the fact it's frayed, means anything can happen and with some of the trips I do and having to be out on call for my line of work I don't want the car going wrong! I don't do half arse mate :)

    ta muchly for the reply.

    Seán
    #4

Share This Page