1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Small towns not on Audi Nav?!

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by m0sbf, Mar 25, 2014.

  1. m0sbf
    Offline

    m0sbf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    Couldn't believe that my Audi Nav system doesn't know where Southam is. The M40 has closed on Sunday so tried to re-programme the navigation to take me from Coventry to Southam (a small Warwickshire town!) and the navigation system didn't have it listed. As I didn't have a postcode, I ended up manually map reading.

    My TomTom even has small villages in its database. Am I missing something here?
    Anyone else had this issue? Do I need a map update or something and are these free of charge?

    Steve
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    431
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    If you have connect did you try the online destination function? Works a treat
    #2
  4. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,435
    Likes Received:
    704
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    One day, car manufacturers will stop trying to create their own nav solutions and just hand the task off to someone who already does it really well - whether that be tomtom or google, or similar. They must put tonnes of work into their nav solutions and still offer something that isn't as good as those companies - it's just a waste of effort!
    #3
  5. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,518
    Likes Received:
    572
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    I have my TomTom ONE v3 which I purchased in May 2008 on my desk at the moment so that I can add the latest update to my PGPSW speed camera database. I have just entered Southam and it finds it straight way.
    #4
  6. alistairm1
    Offline

    alistairm1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    Some manufacturers are a bit more enlightened and partner with one of the satnav manufacturers. That way they get proven satnav software and maps without the costs of developing their own. Surely a cheaper option than having to employ a development team.

    However, I would much prefer the car manufacturers to just provide a hardware platform and allow you to install your navigator of choice.
    #5
    GreatBallsofFire and cemerson like this.
  7. alistairm1
    Offline

    alistairm1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    #6
  8. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    353
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    You can already do this with your smartphone, thus there is a choice. Besides the high technology pack uses google street view and I am sure that the next generation of sat nav will offer even more as it is going to be android based...
    #7
  9. alistairm1
    Offline

    alistairm1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    Yes, I understand that, I just don't like having to use two bits of technology where one would suffice.
    #8
  10. m0sbf
    Offline

    m0sbf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    Unfortunately I don't have Audi Connect.

    I am very surprised that the base navigation system in my A3 is unable to navigate me to the town centre of a reasonable sized UK town! The objective was to re-route myself to the next junction down the M40 to avoid the closure. This is the first time I have found the Audi navigation lacking. My TomTom has a much more extensive town database! Fortunately I had my Ipad so was able to find a postcode. Had to stop and do some web searches.

    Audi need to look at the navigation design so that it covers this basic stuff!
    #9
  11. cuke2u
    Offline

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    353
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    Perhaps this is the one of the reasons why they are changing their systems...
    #10
    m0sbf likes this.
  12. snakehips
    Offline

    snakehips Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    224
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    Not gloating but my tech pack satnav finds Southam no problem. I have been very impressed with it so far - best I've ever had. But surely both the HDD and SD systems should be able to find the same place names?
    #11
  13. m0sbf
    Offline

    m0sbf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Mar 25, 2014]
    That's odd. All I did was try to enter a destination town (DEST) and only a few choices came up when "south...." Was entered. Southampton was there of course; but no Southam. When I tried to enter more letters they were greyed out. Maybe there's a newer version, although mine can't be that old as it has the new A46 dual carriageway in Nottinghamshire, where my TomTom still has sections of it incorrectly mapped.
    #12
  14. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    431
    [Mar 26, 2014]
    Very strange. I presume it can be seen on the map? Can you scroll to it and view the town? If so, I wonder if it's a spelling mistake on that version of the map or something??!
    #13

Share This Page