1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Small towns not on Audi Nav?!

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by m0sbf, Mar 25, 2014.

  1. m0sbf

    m0sbf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    15
    Couldn't believe that my Audi Nav system doesn't know where Southam is. The M40 has closed on Sunday so tried to re-programme the navigation to take me from Coventry to Southam (a small Warwickshire town!) and the navigation system didn't have it listed. As I didn't have a postcode, I ended up manually map reading.

    My TomTom even has small villages in its database. Am I missing something here?
    Anyone else had this issue? Do I need a map update or something and are these free of charge?

    Steve
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Itguy

    Itguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    447
    If you have connect did you try the online destination function? Works a treat
     
  4. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,059
    Likes Received:
    865
    One day, car manufacturers will stop trying to create their own nav solutions and just hand the task off to someone who already does it really well - whether that be tomtom or google, or similar. They must put tonnes of work into their nav solutions and still offer something that isn't as good as those companies - it's just a waste of effort!
     
  5. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A3 quattro

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,351
    Likes Received:
    922
    I have my TomTom ONE v3 which I purchased in May 2008 on my desk at the moment so that I can add the latest update to my PGPSW speed camera database. I have just entered Southam and it finds it straight way.
     
  6. alistairm1

    alistairm1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    44
    Some manufacturers are a bit more enlightened and partner with one of the satnav manufacturers. That way they get proven satnav software and maps without the costs of developing their own. Surely a cheaper option than having to employ a development team.

    However, I would much prefer the car manufacturers to just provide a hardware platform and allow you to install your navigator of choice.
     
    GreatBallsofFire and cemerson like this.
  7. alistairm1

    alistairm1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    44
  8. cuke2u

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    583
    You can already do this with your smartphone, thus there is a choice. Besides the high technology pack uses google street view and I am sure that the next generation of sat nav will offer even more as it is going to be android based...
     
  9. alistairm1

    alistairm1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    44
    Yes, I understand that, I just don't like having to use two bits of technology where one would suffice.
     
  10. m0sbf

    m0sbf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    15
    Unfortunately I don't have Audi Connect.

    I am very surprised that the base navigation system in my A3 is unable to navigate me to the town centre of a reasonable sized UK town! The objective was to re-route myself to the next junction down the M40 to avoid the closure. This is the first time I have found the Audi navigation lacking. My TomTom has a much more extensive town database! Fortunately I had my Ipad so was able to find a postcode. Had to stop and do some web searches.

    Audi need to look at the navigation design so that it covers this basic stuff!
     
  11. cuke2u

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    2,725
    Likes Received:
    583
    Perhaps this is the one of the reasons why they are changing their systems...
     
    m0sbf likes this.
  12. snakehips

    snakehips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    259
    Not gloating but my tech pack satnav finds Southam no problem. I have been very impressed with it so far - best I've ever had. But surely both the HDD and SD systems should be able to find the same place names?
     
  13. m0sbf

    m0sbf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    15
    That's odd. All I did was try to enter a destination town (DEST) and only a few choices came up when "south...." Was entered. Southampton was there of course; but no Southam. When I tried to enter more letters they were greyed out. Maybe there's a newer version, although mine can't be that old as it has the new A46 dual carriageway in Nottinghamshire, where my TomTom still has sections of it incorrectly mapped.
     
  14. Itguy

    Itguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    447
    Very strange. I presume it can be seen on the map? Can you scroll to it and view the town? If so, I wonder if it's a spelling mistake on that version of the map or something??!
     

Share This Page