1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sluggish on cold start (occasionally) on A3 turbo

Discussion in 'General Technical / How To' started by concoursneil, Aug 29, 2005.

  1. concoursneil
    Online

    concoursneil Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 29, 2005]
    My friends Y plate A3 Turbo seems to give an intermittent fault on cold start.
    When starting seems as if its missing when you put foot down. If you put foot down in mine in 2nd gear it pics up quickly and smoothly , yet in friends it almost as if wrong fuel in it and it struggles to find full power.
    Dont worry correct fuel is in the tank. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

    It does not do it all the time even when cold but just occasionally.
    Its fly by wire not cable.
    It feels like it not firing on all cylinders , but nowhere near that bad , that sort of missing feel tho.
    Hope you understand the prob /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smirk.gif

    Any ideas you have would be great help, as when it was taken back to dealers prob never happened and nothing was showing on diagnostics according to them.

    Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. Danielson
    Offline

    Danielson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 29, 2005]
    sounds like the maf sensor to me...
    #2
  4. concoursneil
    Online

    concoursneil Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 29, 2005]
    Thats what i thought , what sort of price are you looking at to replace it
    #3
  5. Kevint
    Offline

    Kevint Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 29, 2005]
    Or could be a lamda sensor.

    MAF is £75 + Vat when you exchange your old one.

    Kev.
    #4
  6. concoursneil
    Online

    concoursneil Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 29, 2005]
    Also been looking at lambda possibilities too , as it does seem to be air fuel related, cheers guys second oppions on here always appreciated atleast i seem to be barking up the right tree /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif

    The joys of the internet /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #5
  7. Dean_T
    Offline

    Dean_T Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    96
    [Aug 29, 2005]
    sounds a little like the problem i had with my A3 Turbo when i first had it

    when i had my remap done Mike@Jabba knocked back the fuelling by ~4%, problem gone

    i think this can be done on VAG-COM but not sure where though /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    FWIW my A3 went back to the dealers 3 or 4 times as well as calling the RAC out to it to try and sort it, neither of them could!
    #6
  8. foolish3uk
    Offline

    foolish3uk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 29, 2005]
    sounds like you might have a coil pack gone. or maybe a maf
    #7
  9. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 10, 2005]
    My friends S3 had this problem.

    Scanned with VAGCOM which showed a bad coolant temp sensor. Swapped the sensor and now its fine.

    Worth a look I recon.
    #8
  10. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 10, 2005]
    absolutely, temp sensor first to look at, as you've already diagnosed the problem to only when its cold.

    don't trust an empty fault log either, it may just be reading wrong values that dont trigger a fault.
    #9
  11. recomdos
    Offline

    recomdos Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 11, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    My friends S3 had this problem.

    Scanned with VAGCOM which showed a bad coolant temp sensor. Swapped the sensor and now its fine.

    Worth a look I recon.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    is this dead easy to change? where is it located exactly?

    my vagcom is throwing back engine coolant sensor fault and mentioning lambda sensor.

    more than likely get the garage to fit it all, but I just wanna know how much I should be prepared to pay etc etc.

    cheers

    Rob
    #10

Share This Page