1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Slow wipers

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Soupie69uk, Oct 17, 2006.

  1. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Oct 17, 2006]
    My wipers are getting quite slow.

    Wasnt sure if I am needing new wipers or if something else is needing replaced?

    Maybe the wiper motor is getting old??

    Cheers,
    Paul.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. marmite
    Offline

    marmite Counting the Tesco Club points

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 17, 2006]
    Hello mate
    More likely to be the linkage not the motor,
    #2
  4. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Oct 17, 2006]
    Oh right will it just need a clean up? Or need replaced?
    #3
  5. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Oct 17, 2006]
    Yep it will be the linkage its a well known prob on the facelift A4's, mine went when I bought it.
    #4
  6. disley
    Offline

    disley Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 17, 2006]
    this happened on mine. the linkage is the problem, just get another from scrappy, paid £40 for a linkage and motor and then sold the motor for £20 on ebay:thumbsup:
    #5
  7. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,787
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Oct 17, 2006]
    Cool so all i need is a new linkage? Or just sort the old one?

    Anyone know the cost? and is it an easy job?
    #6
  8. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Oct 17, 2006]
    Easy for you that’s for sure All I will say if you replace the linkage only use a marker to show where the motor spindle should be or your spend ages working out the position.

    You may just get away stripping them down and greasing them up.
    #7
  9. mac1403
    Offline

    mac1403 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Oct 17, 2006]
    Replaced mine too when they went so slow nothing was being cleared at all. The linkage was totally siezed and no ammount of wd40 would loosen them....eventually lost my rag, became over zealous and snapped one of the arms. Located one in the scrappy for £45 including motor etc. Beware, the motors have different electrical connections though.
    #8
  10. Randomjim
    Offline

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 17, 2006]
    I'm going through the same problem, good to know its the linkage.
    #9
  11. mattpanton
    Offline

    mattpanton Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 17, 2006]
    #10
  12. Randomjim
    Offline

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 17, 2006]
    Think that guy might be sponsored by rolling rock
    #11

Share This Page