1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky Surf Talk See

Discussion in 'Home Cinema, Hi-Fi and Gadgets' started by beaker, Mar 2, 2007.

  1. beaker
    Offline

    beaker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone got this package? It seems like a really good deal. £26 all in for basic Sky, free evening/weekend calls and 8mb broadband. Thinking about going for it as my current BT Yahoo broadband is £22 alone.

    Any comments on service/speed etc in relation to the Sky broadband would be helpful.
    #1
  2. meatychi
    Offline

    meatychi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just recently switched over to their broadband offerring - I was "promised" a maximum downtime of 24 hours that transpired to be 10 days!

    They use their own pre-configured routers and the first one they sent me was faulty.

    I have had no problems since.

    If you subscribed to them as a sky+ customer then you don't really benefit from this package as they charge you £10 a month for having the box if you dont have the sports or movies package!
    #2
  3. beaker
    Offline

    beaker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    does it not work with any router? I've just recently got a netgear wireless 108mbps adsl router. I wouldnt want to switch if the sky version was slower.
    #3
  4. meatychi
    Offline

    meatychi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe their is a way of fooling it but they have hard coded their routers with some unique identifier to stop people using their own equipment.

    Try this forum http://www.skyuser.co.uk/
    #4
  5. beaker
    Offline

    beaker Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that. I've checked and I'm pretty sure Sky is just using a badged version of the netgear anyhow. Only difference is mine is the rangemax version. Not sure if I'll notice.
    #5
  6. auroan
    Offline

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,668
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't do it. Sky technical are an absolute sham (very insider knowledge) The broadcast arm are spot on..... but god what a bunch of cowboys the IT arm are. Everyone seems to be a contractor and hardly anybody knows what they are doing.

    You're in for a lot of outages if you're on a sky IT package. Put it this way every project that gets finished always seems to have a stablization project following it.
    #6
  7. batwad
    Offline

    batwad Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm signed up and loving connecting at 10Mbps :drool: The Sky router is a rebranded NetGear one; no complaints with ours yet. It's true it's all preconfigured but a quick call to Sky got us the admin password so you can go in and change all the settings anyway. Personally, I think the preconfiguration is a good idea because it's literally plug and go and the wireless security was all set up.

    I don't think you can get the package without the router. You could always flog it on eBay.
    #7
  8. SamDude
    Offline

    SamDude Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it have a monthly usage cap?
    #8
  9. meatychi
    Offline

    meatychi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    the 10mb doesnt but the other do!
    #9

Share This Page