1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SKY + Fan

Discussion in 'Home Cinema, Hi-Fi and Gadgets' started by Niknak, Jun 24, 2007.

  1. Niknak
    Offline

    Niknak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    My fan is always running, anyone know how to sure this as it's really anoying.
    Thanks
    #1
  2. nwhiteley
    Offline

    nwhiteley Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0

    My $ky HD fan was constantly on aswell...... until i turned off the Sky Anytime service
    #2
  3. jazzyc
    Offline

    jazzyc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    have you got plenty of ventilation around the reciever? I mean, you dont have it cramed in a tight space do you?

    The first reciever i had (older gray style) the fan was quite loud on this one but on the latest style thompson one (white) is fine.

    only comes on know and then though
    #3
  4. Bash_A3
    Offline

    Bash_A3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2007
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    It comes on as it records Sky Anytime programming when you are in standby mode. If you want to keep this service the fan will stay on.
    I'm opting out whilst the box is where I sleep, the noise isnt acceptable.
    #4
  5. Amchlolor
    Offline

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    As others have said,try switching off the 'Anytime TV' option.
    Switch off the 'auto stand by' function too.
    This should make your fan quiet again.
    If not,try doing this AND a forced software upgrade.
    To do this,put the box onto standby and switch it off at the wall.
    Press and hold the 'back up' button ON THE BOX.
    Whilst pressing the 'back up' button ON THE BOX,switch it back on at the wall.
    Wait a wee while and all the lights on the box will light up,perhaps accompanied by an on-screen message saying "software upgrade".
    After about 10 minutes,the box will go onto stand-by itself and you've upgraded the software.
    #5
  6. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    Bowfer does that erase any recordings or is it just the operating system?

    My fan is on all the time since I upgraded the hard drive, apparently this is normal and there are fan upgrades available which are more controllable and quieter. So I got rid of the whining hard drive and now have fan noise instead, which is not ideal but preferable to the whine
    #6
  7. Niknak
    Offline

    Niknak Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    0
    #7
  8. DPM
    Offline

    DPM Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,326
    Likes Received:
    55
    How do you turn these two things off and when turning them off what are you actually turning off?

    Also what does upgrading the software do?
    #8
  9. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    Many thanks Niknak, just ordered one. God don't you just love the internet?
    #9

Share This Page