1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Site Upgrade (05-01-10) - Post Problems/Requests Here (READ INSTRUCTIONS IN POST #1)

Discussion in 'Site Support & Announcements' started by FactionOne, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,149
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    I have the same problem when browsing using firefox, it doesn't do it on IE though....
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,149
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    I have the same problem when browsing using firefox, it doesn't do it on IE though....
     
  4. abdus

    abdus Top Gear
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    All good here except that it takes a bit longer to load than before. But not a big issue. Very slight difference
     
  5. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,993
    Likes Received:
    522
    I'm using Firefox (the new 3.6 Beta 2) and it's fine, I think.
     
  6. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,149
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    I'm using version 3.5.7 on Windows XP, I've also noticed the animates 'Audi-Sport.net' logo doesn't animate on firefox, but it does on IE.
     
  7. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,149
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    I'm using version 3.5.7 on Windows XP, I've also noticed the animates 'Audi-Sport.net' logo doesn't animate on firefox, but it does on IE.
     
  8. Ads

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    581
    I don't like that when you click 'reply with a quote' that the quote and text box appears directly under that post. Think it would be better if the text box was always at the bottom of the page.
    It's happened quite a few times where I'm quoting one of more posts, have scrolled up or down to read some other posts, and then I have to search through the thread to find the text box again.
     
  9. nu boy

    nu boy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I still can't veiw old posts when i do a search only posts that were posted since the site was upgraded is being displayed.
    Anyone else having this problem?
     
  10. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,966
    Likes Received:
    381
    Not sure whats occuring here, if you search on google, then older posts are available in the new templates, so i can assume its an indexing issue. I will check with admin and report back
     
  11. floyd 1.8 turbo

    floyd 1.8 turbo Mirror, Signal, Outmanoeuvre

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    3
    On the B5 pics thread, tried to add photo's. A very handy box popped up which allowed me to select and upload pics alot easier than before, but, after it had finished there was no ok button or anything and they weren't on the thread. Did i miss something?! I'm not a very technical person so make the reply simple please!!!!

    Thanks chaps
     
  12. devonmikeyboy

    devonmikeyboy As far from JBS as possible !

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    8
    I cannot find a way to delete adverts for stuff i have sold in the classified section.
     
  13. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,149
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    This double posting is doing my head in, it only does it when I'm making a post with firefox, but not when I'm using IE. But the whole site looks **** on IE and perfect on firefox... aaaargh!

    I'm using windows XP home edition btw.
     
  14. mitch78

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    It's doing my head in too (I'm using Safari on a mac) but it doesn't always do it. I've only ever used the quick reply and sometimes it's fine, others it double posts.
     
  15. mattandrew

    mattandrew Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    10
    is it me or is the search function not working correctly, it is not bringing many results up
     
  16. johnnythepie

    johnnythepie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    71
    whats with the stupid forum page bieng black with grey text?Is someone having a laugh?Combined with the tiny text now i can see fu*k all.Sort it out!!
     
  17. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    & I quote " Way too impatient " lmao
     
  18. 10blazin

    10blazin HYPERDRIVE NEEDED

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes search engine is terrible also ive tryed to post a picture from the net and my computer and cant seem to , when i upload both ways i get a red exclemation mark ?? why is this:Flush:
     
  19. FactionOne

    FactionOne Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,263
    Likes Received:
    158
    OK, there are lots of 'work in progress' things (as per my last post about the issues)... As regards areas appearing black with grey text, no, someone's not having a laugh - they're (there's two of us at it), making changes on the fly (rather than down the site and kick you all off to do it).

    Oh, and cheeky advertising in signatures? Sort it out!! ;)

    Regards,

    Rob.
     
  20. FactionOne

    FactionOne Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,263
    Likes Received:
    158
    That confused the living s**t right out of me bud - until I read a few more times and noticed the 'also' - please lets keep to one issue at a time (and I guess the "Yes search engine is terrible" bit before the "also" would therefore become extraneous).

    Anyway, when you say you've tried to "post a picture from the net" does that mean you're uploading a file, or embedding a linked image (ie posting an internet address that ends with .jpg (or gif, bmp, png etc.)) - I don't understand what you mean by 'both ways' (in the context of uploading) - and where do you get the red exclaimation?

    Regards,

    Rob.
     
  21. johnnythepie

    johnnythepie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    71
    Hussar!!!I can read again!!(just the text size now please!)
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. rasA4

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    Rob, like some of that CF at the top of the screen
    i would like to have who has posted the latest post my subscribed posts back again.... please
     
  24. h5djr

    h5djr Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,119
    Likes Received:
    836
    The forum is certainly looking better than it did at first, although some times when I come in I cannot remember what is was like before!! Must be my age.
     
  25. N8

    N8 Kowalski Details
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,166
    Likes Received:
    696
    I miss the old forum.

    I don't like how the smileys aren't on quick reply.
    You can't view threads started by a member.
    Classified section is all over the place.
     
  26. Administrators

    Administrators Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator Audi A2

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,833
    Likes Received:
    426
    Hi N8

    Just to show we do listen and care you will now find that we have added the smileys back to the Quick Reply...[​IMG]

    We are trying to get all the bit back on to system ASAP but not all of them are available yet. There are lots of changes still happening all the time and the software will bw upgraded a lot for the next short while as all the bugs are found and sorted..

    I hope that we get the site as you all want it (and no were not going back to the old software :)

    The video section is being a pain right now (Audi-Sport.tv) and this might take a few days.

    If there is anything else please let us know and we will try and sort it out

    Many thanks

    Admin
     
  27. Geordie Mike

    Geordie Mike Yeee-haw

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've still got the grey on black issue on the main forum listing. It may be as we still use IE6 at work? As soon as I go into any area, it goes back to as it was.
     
  28. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,149
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    Yes, IE6 is **** for viewing the new upgrade, I just upgraded to IE8 and it looks normal again, normal being how it's viewed on Mozilla firefox.
     
  29. Geordie Mike

    Geordie Mike Yeee-haw

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thankfully I am also "unmanaged" so I can download and install what I like. Time to reinstall firefox & chrome on the new machine.
     
  30. Administrators

    Administrators Administrator
    Staff Member Administrator Audi A2

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,833
    Likes Received:
    426
    We do have a bit of grey on black at the moment :) but it's better than black on black :)
     
  31. Ads

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    581
    In the thread lists I'd like to see more of a visual difference between the stickys and the normal threads. The one or two shade difference between the backgrounds is very missable.
    And yes, I know it says "Sticky", but also very missable.
     
  32. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,149
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    For a while now, the 'Music & Movies' Forum has a lock symbol ([​IMG]) as opposed to the quote bubble symbol ([​IMG]) which needs changing.

    Can you tell I'm bored and have nothing better to do? [​IMG]
     
  33. mitch78

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    Isn't that because it's a locked forum, and the sub-forum level is unlocked (and therefore has the bubble)?
     
  34. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,149
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    Yes, that would make sense, just looks odd with the other forums sporting the quote bubble.
     
  35. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Yes I can see how that could be contrued as a forum that isnt in use as such, should change it to the bubble if only for Joey lol
     
  36. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,993
    Likes Received:
    522
    Any news on when it's going to be possible to scroll down to the 'lower' smilies which are still not accessible?
     
  37. davej_anderson

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trying to read the new forum on blackberry browser is almost impossibe, grey on black doesn't work.

    When will a 'mobile' version of the site be available?
     
  38. TorqueTerrorist

    TorqueTerrorist www.sprayplan.co.uk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    19
    I am unable to edit my signature since site update. Am i just blind and stupid because it has been known before! Any help would be great. Regards Craig
     
  39. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,149
    Likes Received:
    2,318
    When you say you are unable to edit your Sig, do you mean you've tried to edit it, and it's not working, or you don't know where the function for editing your sig is?

    If it's the latter, scroll right to the top of the screen, and near the right hand side, you need to click on 'settings', then on the next page, about half down the left hand side is the edit sig function.
     
  40. TorqueTerrorist

    TorqueTerrorist www.sprayplan.co.uk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    19
    I actually knew this but im a complete nob so thanks mate!
     
  41. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    Is it just me but when I click in the reply box & start typing, I then look up to see the text has gone down a line & is missing load of words, is as though that area hasnt finished loading or the box is refreshed, but the page had finished loading, strange cause using site exactly as before.
     
  42. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,994
    Likes Received:
    1,383
    The issue reported above is still present & I have watched it delete my text, also I cant url link an image to insert into a post, although I've gone directly to the url & its shown up in IE straght away, so its something screwy with the site.
     

Share This Page