1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Site not working on Wireless network

Discussion in 'Site Support & Announcements' started by Markb, Nov 23, 2005.

  1. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 23, 2005]
    Any suggestions to why it might not be working on my wireless network? I've checked in the firewall settings and it's not been blocked. I've also checked the settings in Zone alarm and it's not been blocked. I've also cleared all of the cookies on my laptop and it still doesn't work /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    Could it be that Audi-Sport have blocked my IP address? Can you tell me whether any IP addresses have been added since the 21st?

    Cheers Mark.
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 24, 2014]

  3. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 25, 2005]
    Are you using the same connection wired, and wirelessly, but its only working when wired? Or is it a different connection all together?

    Rich
  4. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 25, 2005]
    I've got broadband over the wireless connection, but I've still got a modem in my computer so I am using dial up to connect and post this.
  5. IanL-S3
    Offline

    IanL-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 26, 2005]
    Have you tried plugging your laptop(any computer) directly into your broadband modem with an ethernet cable? Does ASN work that way? That will tell you whether or not its your Wireless Network.

    Cheers

    Ian
  6. CJ A4
    Offline

    CJ A4 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 27, 2005]
    Contact your ISP maybe your wireless router has an inbuilt firewall which needs configuring its sounds like its just something silly like that! Have you checked to see if you can access your router they are usually 192.168.0.1 then adminfor name and admin again for password. Try it and see!
  7. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 28, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Have you tried plugging your laptop(any computer) directly into your broadband modem with an ethernet cable? Does ASN work that way? That will tell you whether or not its your Wireless Network.

    Cheers

    Ian

    [/ QUOTE ]


    Will try that and see what happens.
  8. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 28, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Contact your ISP maybe your wireless router has an inbuilt firewall which needs configuring its sounds like its just something silly like that! Have you checked to see if you can access your router they are usually 192.168.0.1 then adminfor name and admin again for password. Try it and see!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Already checked that on my Linksys router. As you say the IP address was 192.168.0.1

    Mark.
  9. jojo
    Offline

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,599
    Likes Received:
    1,961
    [Nov 28, 2005]
    Mark, I'm using Linksys routers both at home and work, one is through Cable and the other is ADSL, apart from setting up the connection with the ISP, nothing else was configured, and no connection problems to the site at all. HTH
  10. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 28, 2005]
    I know it should just work.

    I think it's going to be an ISP prob /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif
  11. god_thats_quick
    Offline

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 1, 2005]
    Did you get a broadband modem too or just the router? I checked our line was working before setting up our wireless router.
  12. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 1, 2005]
    Hmm all of a sudden it seems to be working again....

    Strange not that I am fussed, but I would have liked to have known why it stopped working.
  13. neversaydie
    Offline

    neversaydie Post Whore

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 16, 2005]
    User error /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif
  14. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 16, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    User error /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Err I hope not.

    Distinction BTEC National Diploma Computer Studies

    1 year industrial placement (IT support department)

    Final year of a BSC Hons in Computing Science
  15. god_thats_quick
    Offline

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 16, 2005]
    What you doing asking us then Mark? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif
  16. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 16, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    What you doing asking us then Mark? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Because I had tried everything to my knowledge + used google etc..., but I knew there were loads of IT guys on here /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif
  17. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 16, 2005]
    next time (god forbid) try accessing ASN via ip (194.70.50.78) rather than DNS name. DNS server cache corruption is common, and takes a few days to resolve.
  18. Markb
    Offline

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 16, 2005]
    Never thought of that, but yes that could have been the problem.

    Just tried accessing it via the IP address stated above, but it asks for the username and password. Tried Audi-Sport username and password, but the 'computer says no' LOL
  19. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Dec 17, 2005]
    yeah, thats wierd.... it must be hosted on a server with multiple virtual servers, using host-headers. Bummer. The direct IP test aint gonna work.

Share This Page