1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Single DIN cage anyone?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by steve1975l, Sep 8, 2006.

  1. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    #1
  2. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    *bump* Anyone before I chuck it.
    #2
  3. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could pop it on eBay for 35p and see if anyone's up for it. You'd be surprised at what folks will buy!
    #3
  4. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried that John, put it on for 1p. Sold it for 1p to a non-paying bidder from Poland.

    I don't want anything for it...just seems a shame to bin it.
    #4
  5. vanilla_ice
    Online

    vanilla_ice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    I might be able to find a home for it.

    I have a synphony II in at the moment, but have a single DIN MP3 head unit that I could put to use, just was't sure what was needed, or whether youe cage will be suitable. Any ideas?

    Cheers,

    ICE
    #5
  6. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    It would be but you need the right climate module as well.
    #6
  7. vanilla_ice
    Online

    vanilla_ice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmmm, I can feel a mini project coming on...

    Do you know if the required Climate control unit be able to re-use the existing wiring?

    Cheers,

    ICE
    #7
  8. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am almost 100% sure it will but the larger climate module which you will need costs a bit. Unless you can get someone who has the single din climate and wants to swap it's not worth it.

    I wish I had asked and found someone before cutting mign down. I would have given you some £££ for the exchange. Oh well.
    #8
  9. vanilla_ice
    Online

    vanilla_ice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    #9
  10. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's a pre-facelift and I don't think the connector will be the same.

    Your best bet would be to find someone upgrading to double DIN.
    #10
  11. vanilla_ice
    Online

    vanilla_ice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, thanks mate.

    Cheers,

    ICE
    #11
  12. AndybS3
    Offline

    AndybS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got the single din CC lying around if you fancied a swap, I could also do with the double din cage if poss
    #12

Share This Page