1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Show me your induction kits please....

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Ardz83, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. Ardz83
    Offline

    Ardz83 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    Hi guys
    Just a quick one to see how people's induction kits look in their engine bays. I'm thinking of getting one but the last one i had on there wouldnt run right.

    The car was under powered because the maf was unplugged,i plugged it back in and it wouldnt run.

    Please could i see how you have yours and what makes you are using?

    Many thanks in advance

    Dan
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 28, 2014]

  3. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    view of filter
    [​IMG]

    View of heat shield
    [​IMG]

    View of engine bay
    [​IMG]

    Filter is a k&n, heatshield is autosiliconehoses.com (ASH)
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2011
    #2
  4. Ardz83
    Offline

    Ardz83 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    Thanks for that bradderz. Does it work ok with the maf plugged in then? I got a ram air filter but wont run with the maf plugged in and runs **** with it unplugged. Any ideas??
    #3
  5. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    I'd say your maf is dodgy but the ram air filters are ment to be better in most tests than most of the other manufactures out there ie filtration,and air flow. What engine you got ??

    It runs with the MAF plugged in yes.
    #4
  6. Ardz83
    Offline

    Ardz83 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    Its a 1.8 turbo fwd 150 bhp. It runs fine with the standard airbox on and the maf plugged in. Im abit confused.
    #5
  7. steady jay
    Offline

    steady jay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    I've got a k and n induction on mine mate it runs perfectly fine. I've got the aeb engine HTH
    #6
  8. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    How are you setting it up as the ignition control module is on top of the airbox have you taken the MAF housing out of the airbox lid ??
    Have you got a pic of the filter installed ??
    #7
  9. steady jay
    Offline

    steady jay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    Only have the iPhone at the mo I can email a pic to you if you want to post it?
    #8
  10. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    On my iPhone so can't post either and the questions were at Ardz83 but hey ho lol upload it when you can get a sticky induction pic thread goin lol
    #9
  11. steady jay
    Offline

    steady jay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    Oops my bad lol
    #10
  12. 20va4
    Offline

    20va4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    this is mine still have MAF sensor on and runs fine ive put a passat air box heat shield on it to try and stop some heat geting to the filter [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    #11
  13. S4_dan
    Online

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    85
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    Mine is very similar to 20va4's setup. Except my filter is blue and on a 2.8 V6. Runs fine and maf is connected.
    #12
  14. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    20va4 - have you got the trumpet bit still on the maf housing? as mines tight with that removed and the tip catches the headlight slightly also do you not beleive in the cold air flowed bay theory whilst driving ?
    #13
  15. 20va4
    Offline

    20va4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    not sure wot u mean dont think mine has a trumpet thing lol and cold air flowed bay theory lol
    #14
  16. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    it is bolted to the maf housing as like a duct inside the airbox and this is what secures the maf housing to the air box lid !
    #15
  17. Ardz83
    Offline

    Ardz83 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    Ah my filter was the opposite way to the green one in the above pic. Tip of the filter was facing the front of the car. I guess that is wrong looking at the 2 cars here?

    The standard air box is just as it came out the factory. Yes there is plugs going to the top of the airbox and a rubber part that fits a hole in the airbox on the top. If that makes sense.

    Ps I'm on iPhone too lol
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2011
    #16
  18. 20va4
    Offline

    20va4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    oh i see lol no when i got the car it had another filter on it with no air flow pips goin to it. dint come with the standerd air box. do i need the trumpit thing its the AEB engine 1996
    #17
  19. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    20va4 - No as the air filter will clamp straight to the maf housing and give you a little more room .

    Ardz83 - the rubber grommet is on the maf connector harness and the two connectors on the top are for the icm all these have to be connected, in the first pic I posted you can see the icm on the air filter bracket and you should keep the metal part on as it cools the icm iirc !
    #18
  20. Ardz83
    Offline

    Ardz83 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    So did I have my filter the wrong way round? Everything was connected and it ran like a bag of sh*t.
    #19
  21. 20va4
    Offline

    20va4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    oh right ya not a lot of room there
    #20
  22. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    Ardz83 - it's hard to understand what you mean when you say your filter was the other way round if you can upload a pic of your set up I may be able to answer your questions basically you have the intake pipe then MAF ( make sure it's installed the right way the to bolt holes on the housing towards the rear) and then the filter make sure your ICM is connected up and also the tank vent valve and pipesbe sure to keep the icm near the cold air intake or as close to the o/s wing as poss. That's all I can suggest with no pic to go off !
    #21
  23. 20va4
    Offline

    20va4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    how come the ICM has to be by the cold air feed.
    #22
  24. tsporta4
    Offline

    tsporta4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    heres my ram air setup fitted to my 97 aeb 1.8t a4
    #23
  25. tsporta4
    Offline

    tsporta4 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    it doesnt have to be but it gets hot and has no heatsink
    #24
  26. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    Iirc I've heard that it will fry the IC if it gets to hot that's why it has the metal grill looking plate to cool it hence why it's mounted to the airbox and there's a hole in the a/box to cool it !!
    #25
  27. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    That first pic is a good one to go off ardz83 similar to my setup !
    #26
  28. 20va4
    Offline

    20va4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    wicked i best move it to move lol cheers
    #27
  29. B5QUAT
    Offline

    B5QUAT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    Just a quick question. Is the standard airbox and filter setup not good for around 300bhp (I was led to believe it was)? Why then fit an induction kit if running considerably less than that unless it's just for looks and noise? I can understand it on something running 300bhp+ but otherwise is it actually going to do any good?
    #28
  30. Ardz83
    Offline

    Ardz83 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    Each to their own mate. I had one on but now back to standard.
    #29
  31. Ardz83
    Offline

    Ardz83 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    I would upload a pic but it's back to standard now. Might have a go at refitting it after the car comes out the garage with a shiny new steering rack.
    #30
  32. tangerinedream
    Offline

    tangerinedream Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    i had mine like above but i still dont think you can beat the look or performance of the standard box. as people say you can run upto 300bhp with same air box so why change it all these kits do is make your car thirsty and chavy
    #31
  33. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    I went for the cone filter as you can here the turbo spooling and sucking all that air in and also makes the 007p sound wicked ! So mine was for the sound but I think it looks better than a dusty old airbox yes they can run up to 300bhp but each to there own I suppose, I cant wait to get the Frankenturbo fitted and here that f****r spool especially when I get the 3" MAF, injectors and remap sorted :) I no it's no gt30 but hey it's hybrid !!
    #32
  34. tangerinedream
    Offline

    tangerinedream Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    cool beans bradderrz will be very interested about the franken turbo build, be a good read
    #33
  35. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    It sure will no doubt I will come across problems and have to get some advice of you A4 guru's as im still learning lol but I will do my best to keep you all updated when it comes I will start the build thread with pic of the kit. It will be slow progress as I'm in the process of paying another holiday off but after that the mrs and i agreed I can start modding again :)
    #34
  36. Ardz83
    Offline

    Ardz83 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    What figures do you expect bradderz? How much is the turbo? Is it a bolt on or you got to change the manifold too?
    #35
  37. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,873
    Likes Received:
    353
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    The S4 and RS4 use exactly the same airfilter and lower box assembly as the 1.8T. The only thing audi did to the box for 380hp on the RS4 was add an additional air intake which opens above 30mph (presumably so it doesnt suck in hot air from the engine bay at low speeds)

    Many big power S4 and RS4 cars are running the standard airbox, with or without a performance panel filter, so personally i dont see the point wasting all that money on an induction kit on a 180hp 1.8T. If you want to do something then stick a panel filter into the OEM airbox which will give you the same possible improvement as the induction kit, but costs half as much and stops the engine bay looking a mess.
    #36
  38. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    I'm hoping around 260-280hp when ive finished that's with MAF, injectors, FMIC and a remap but I may be wrong anything above 240-250 il be happy but I think i saw some where that the Frankenturbo with the right map/setup has pushed 300hp may be seeing things and dreaming tho lol

    It's a bolt on kit (basically it's a hybrid k04)and comes with high flow ceramic manifold and intake to take 3" MAF. Will let you no of costs when I start the build thread !
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2011
    #37
  39. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,873
    Likes Received:
    353
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    I suspect 300 is just the usual BS dyno figures from the USA. I'd say your 260-280 assumption is more along the right lines on a nice reliable UK dyno, with the right supporting mods (ie MAF, FMIC, Injectors, 3" turbo back system and a sport cat)
    #38
  40. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    Yep the 3" exhaust system will be the first on the list as Im running the ths decat already then i will get the FMIC and then I will source the MAF and injectors ready to get it mapped. What VAG/other vehicles can I get the 3" MAF housing from aragorn ??
    #39
  41. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,873
    Likes Received:
    353
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    as far as i know, you need one from a VR6 Mk3 Golf.

    The TT/S3 and other similar maf's dont work with the AJL sensor.
    #40

Share This Page