1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Should I Wait For The A3 Facelift?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Splathead, Dec 31, 2007.

  1. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 3, 2008]
    marriedblonde, yeah I agree about the charging side of things... that does suck. But the playing, as Im shuffling, is a case of if I dont like the track that much, it FF it. Next track... the botton is a close as if I was pressing the MFSW, (because Im resting my hand on the gear stick!) ;) I hear what your saying tho... was just giving an alternative view to an aux port being ****, for a no cost option it certainly has some worthwhile..
    #41
  2. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 3, 2008]
    Ah ok yes it is. Right in that case the Aux input is going to be spot on for your needs :)
    #42
  3. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 3, 2008]
    Ok for a no cost option I will concede it is better than nothing :)

    J.
    #43
  4. Amchlolor
    Offline

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 3, 2008]
    My own fault, I should have checked.:keule:
    I might just bite the bullet and buy an i-pod instead then, as the Dension does appeal.
    The charging bit especially.
    Cheers for all the advice.
    #44
  5. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 3, 2008]
    I bought mine off ebay for New £69 including delivery. Fitting is a doddle as it just plugs into the standard cd changer cables.

    J.
    #45
  6. Amchlolor
    Offline

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 3, 2008]
    D3 doesn't have a CD changer, just a single play, I'm sure.
    Does that complicate matters?:confused:
    #46
  7. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 3, 2008]
    Nope not at all, mines the same as standard just the business head unit, it'll have the cables in place where the changer is normally fitted.

    J.
    #47
  8. Amchlolor
    Offline

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 3, 2008]
    Bear with me here MB..
    If you go onto dension's website, it suggests that the applicable product for an E90 with the professional system (which my D3 has, I checked) is their 'gateway 500' product.
    When you look at that, it says it supports ipod/aux/USB.
    So doesn't that mean I should be able to use my Sony, via USB??
    See here
    #48
  9. marriedblonde
    Offline

    marriedblonde Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    4,371
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 3, 2008]
    They've expanded what you can actually connect throught the dension. So the main use is the ipod but you also have the option of USB pens drives and an Aux input.

    You control it like a normal cd changer. The different CD's 1-6 on the head unit pick different options.

    Select CD 1 - this allows you to move up and down the tracks.
    Select CD 2 - this allows you to choose the play lists. track 1 is all tracks ipod. track 2 is play list 1, track 3 pllaylist 2 etc
    Select CD 3 - this allows you to jump through the albums
    Select CD 4 - this allows you to jump through the artists
    Select CD 5 - Input Source - iPod, Aux
    Select CD 6 - Dension setup

    Does that make sense?

    J.
    #49
  10. Amchlolor
    Offline

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 3, 2008]
    Cheers for all this, MB.
    Looks like I can connect my Sony via the gateway 500 USB, provided it uses FAT12, FAT16 or FAT32 file systems.
    Unfortunately, I can't find anything online to tell me if Sony use any of those.
    I've e-mailed dension.
    Be nice if I could use the Sony, seeing as I only bought it 2 weeks ago!
    #50

Share This Page