1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Short to ground

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by robin_bga, Jan 31, 2013.

  1. robin_bga
    Offline

    robin_bga Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hello everyone, i really your help I did a scan and this is what i found.

    Sunday,27,January,2013,09:11:15:46862
    VCDS Version: Beta 912.0
    Data version: 20091201

    Address 01: Engine
    Labels: 06A-906-032-AJQ.lbl
    Control Module Part Number: 06A 906 032 TB
    Component and/or Version: 1.8L R4/5VT 01 0010
    Software Coding: 04550
    Work Shop Code: WSC 00186
    Additional Info: WAUZZZ8LZ1A071442 AUZ7Z0Y1717547
    8 Faults Found:

    1 - 17523 - Oxygen (Lambda) Sensor Heating: B1 S1: Short to Ground *
    P1115 - 35-00 - -
    2 - 17833 - EVAP Purge Valve (N80): Short to Ground *
    P1425 - 35-00 - -
    3 - 17525 - Oxygen (Lambda) Sensor Heating Circuit: B1 S2: Short to Ground *
    P1117 - 35-00 - -
    4 - 17843 - Secondary Air Pump Relay (J299): Short to Ground *
    P1435 - 35-00 - -
    5 - 17829 - Secondary Air Injection Solenoid Valve (N112): Short to Ground *
    P1421 - 35-00 - -
    6 - 16486 - Mass Air Flow Sensor (G70): Signal too Low *
    P0102 - 35-00 - -
    7 - 18034 - Powertrain Data Bus: Missing Message from TCU
    P1626 - 35-00 - -
    8 - 17748 - Camshaft Position Sensor (G40) / Engine Speed Sensor (G28): Incor. Correlation
    P1340 - 35-00 - -

    Readiness: 0110 1101


    How do i get all this solved?
    I can only tell you how fault 1-6 came about, i discovered that one of the cables in the MAF connecter was shorting and burning, so i disconnected it and hooked up a VCDS cable to see what went wrong and i found this, now my question is what should i fix, because am sure that its probably one piece of electronics that manages all that that has a problem, but i don't know where to look.
    Fault 7 is missing TCU because i removed the Automatic TCU to a manual 5speed edition so that is OK, i would be glad if someone can help tell me how i can change SOFTWARE CODING: 04550 to 04555 because that is how i can get read of fault 7 (i think so could be wrong) or any method of getting read of that fault would be great.
    fault 8 i don't know but i think it could be timing issues because i did an overhaul of the engine, i could be wrong so please advise accordingly.

    HELP PLEASE....!!!
    Robin
    #1
  2. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,767
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    These sensors share wiring so there will be a short in the wire they share somewhere... you just need to trace the wring back and see if there is anything obvious.. chances are it was the MAF wiring as you mention you had an issue... have you tried clearing the codes to see if they come back?

    Fault 8 is normally due to the cambelt being out by a tooth...

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  3. robin_bga
    Offline

    robin_bga Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yes i cleared everything like 5times and it still comes back, however the car moves normally but i dont know about the consumption because am sure all the affected was to do with fuel system or air system.
    I was actually thinking of just replacing the ECU and the wireloom because the MAF goes directly to the ECU (not so sure but i think).
    can it help? however i havn't got that yet.
    am going to try that that you told me and see if it i can find something.
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2013
    #3
  4. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,767
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    ECU will be fine... a lot of sensors share wiring so its just a matter of tracing it back until you find where its causing an issue... another way to do it would be to unplug a sensor at a time, clear codes and rescan to see if anything changes as it could be just one sensor bringing the others down

    <tuffty/>
    #4
  5. robin_bga
    Offline

    robin_bga Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    5
    What do u mean ECU will be fine?
    Ok i hadn't thought of that but i will make sure that i get that underway.
    Cheers thank bro
    #5
  6. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,767
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    ...as in no need to change the ECU... these codes are the result of faulty wiring so I would look at that first... :)

    <tuffty/>
    #6

Share This Page