1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Servicing interval reset

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Caesium, Oct 27, 2006.

  1. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any way to do this? I don't want to change the car to fixed servicing unless I have to but my next service will be my last Audi one, as I can't bear the 70 quid per hour labour charge when I can do a better job myself.
    #1
  2. timps
    Offline

    timps Shakersville

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have reset my Audi Variable Service no problem.
    You will need full VAG com (you have to save adaptations but shareware VAGCom does not let you do this).
    #2
  3. dstech
    Offline

    dstech Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    You don't need vag-com to do this.

    Here's how to reset the service reminder on a B6:

    -Turn car off
    -Hold "Wrench" Button on Console
    -Turn on car (don't need to start)
    -Press Trip Odometer Reset (0,0) while still holding Wrench
    #3
  4. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does this set the car to fixed servicing?
    #4
  5. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is that and where would i get it from? PM me if its not suitable for open discussion:angrymod:
    #5
  6. timps
    Offline

    timps Shakersville

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    You do need VAG com if you want to keep it on AVS (Audi Variable Servicing) & A4Quattro wrote : "I don't want to change the car to fixed servicing unless I have to".

    The method you indicated resets it to fixed servicing at 10000 miles only & not AVS.
    #6
  7. timps
    Offline

    timps Shakersville

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have 2 options

    1) Buy an official lead from http://www.ross-tech.com/ full Vagcom is included with the lead.

    or

    2) Buy a cheaper lead from eBay or http://www.talktomycar.co.uk/ and then buy a full Vagcom licence from ross-tech (this is the cheaper option but you don’t get the same backup).


    The Vagcom shareware is free to download & you can do quite a lot with it and a cheap eBay cable but you will need the full version to reset AVS.
    #7
  8. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems like a lot of dough to reset an indicator, 399 dollars for a lead!!
    #8
  9. timps
    Offline

    timps Shakersville

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does a lot more than just reset the service indicator.
    I bought mine as a fault code reader and to alter some settings.
    My eBay cable cost £15 and about £50 for the VAGCom licence for my A4 B6 I recouped that on doing my own service and being able to rectify a fault code but I take your point its not cheap.
    #9
  10. dstech
    Offline

    dstech Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry I missed that originally timps.

    Ya, get the Vag-com software it works great. I have the latest Ross-tech USB cable and it works great.

    If you don't plan to do much with vag-com and your car then just do the eBay route and use the shareware version of vag-com.

    There is a cracked version of 303 floating around the internet but obviously if you want to use their software you should buy it.
    #10

Share This Page