1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Service light popped up - what do you guys do?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Squirrelofdoom, Sep 10, 2012.

  1. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    15
    Hi guys,

    So my service in 1000 miles just popped up on start-up of the car. Just a bit of a poll really. Do most of you guys (with mods) still send it to a garage, or just service it yourself?

    Also, if you had stuff like the N249 delete and oil catch-can/PCV delete etc done, what would actually happen if you sent it to a garage to get it serviced? Would they panic and throw it back at you? Anyone got any experience with this?

    Final thing, how do I reset the warning lol :)

    Cheers,
    Aran
    #1
  2. Reesy
    Offline

    Reesy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,610
    Likes Received:
    133
    Basic service, do it yourself. Unless you are worried about getting stamps in the service history.

    VCDS will turn the service light off.

    For a general service, a garage is unlikely to even notice the n249 has been removed, and the catch can shouldn't bother them really.
    #2
  3. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    15
    Cool, thanks Reesy. Is there an Audi checklist somewhere of what they do on a service? Both basic and long-life? Would be cool to have with me so I can check everything off.
    #3
  4. Speedy Steve
    Offline

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    8
    #4
  5. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    15
    thanks steve, saw that thread but seemed a bit hit and miss. Think VCDS is the way to go
    #5
  6. Speedy Steve
    Offline

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    8
    Always worked no mine. you just have to make sure you do it right
    #6
  7. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,996
    Likes Received:
    1,589
    I just reset it myself on mine. Mine needs an oil change actually, not done one in 2years! But I've only covered 3k miles or so! lol
    #7
  8. A3 T
    Offline

    A3 T Lord Of The Rings

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,019
    Likes Received:
    9
    I just reset mine yesterday using vagcom.

    If you want I can post up a guide.
    #8
  9. Squirrelofdoom
    Offline

    Squirrelofdoom Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    15
    dont worry about it, i dont have vagcom, so i'll take it to someone nearby with it anyway
    #9
  10. Greg-S3
    Offline

    Greg-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    22
    Oil efficiency drops with age as well as mileage mate!
    #10

Share This Page