1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Service Indicator and Vagcom

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Frazzly, Aug 6, 2008.

  1. Frazzly
    Offline

    Frazzly New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey Guys,

    I have an early b5 A4 sport.

    Cant use the twiddly knobs method to clear my in 2 service indicator.
    I do have vagcom but have never used it other than to check fault codes.

    How do I go about getting rid of the indicator??

    Cheers
    Fraz
    #1
  2. Fraser
    Offline

    Fraser Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    2
  3. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,578
    Likes Received:
    270
    As above. The twiddly knob method tends to only work for mid 97 ish up
    #3
  4. Frazzly
    Offline

    Frazzly New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    thats weird, my copy of vagcom doesn't have the appications section. It just says macro functions not available yet.

    Any ideas whats up?

    ver 311.2
    #4
  5. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,527
    Likes Received:
    301
    you can do it manually by going into the adaptions screen in the instruments channel and changing some of the values.

    IIRC adaption 5 is the oil service indicator and the value set is 1000's of kilometers till the light comes back on, ie 10 means the light will come back on in 10000km

    i would be confirming that before you go change anything, a google search should find you the correct adaption number etc.
    #5
  6. Fraser
    Offline

    Fraser Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    2
    your version seems pretty old

    I am on ver8 - time to update
    #6
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,527
    Likes Received:
    301
    later versions only work if he has a real cable, ebay copies only work with 311 and 409 iirc
    #7
  8. Frazzly
    Offline

    Frazzly New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the heads up guys.

    As it turns out adaption blocks 05, 06 and 07and 08 need changed.

    05 is for the oil service, it needs reset to the number of thousand kilometres till the next one

    06 is for the in1 service in miles ( again in thousands of kilometres)

    07 is for the in1 service in days ( 36 for 360 days)

    08 is for the in2 service in days ( 72 again 720 days)

    I think :)

    It certainly worked for me.
    #8
  9. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,527
    Likes Received:
    301
    yer thats the ones, i like to do an oil change every 5k so i just set the 05 channel to 8 each time i change it so the dash brings up the warning in 5k miles for me :)
    #9

Share This Page