1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sensor next to intercooler

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by steady jay, Aug 26, 2012.

  1. steady jay
    Offline

    steady jay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 26, 2012]
    [FONT=arial, helvetica, sans-serif]I'm fitting my FMIC to my facelift 1.8t but no way of fitting the sensor thats next to the intercooler. Will it run ok without it?[/FONT]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 24, 2014]

  3. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    199
    [Aug 26, 2012]
    Just cottoned on to what you mean I think. It may be the outside temp sensor, Can you get a pic sent over so I can confirm. If it is I simply moved mine to a bolt under the headlamp iirc
    #2
  4. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,827
    Likes Received:
    508
    [Aug 26, 2012]
    yep sounds like the outside temp
    #3
  5. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,606
    Likes Received:
    278
    [Aug 26, 2012]
    If it's mounted on to the tube, it's the MAP sensor, you need that. It's common for Egay FMIC kits and the like to not cater for Map sensors and N75 take off's
    #4
  6. steady jay
    Offline

    steady jay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 26, 2012]
    Just to clear it up a bit it's on the right side of the engine eg throttle body, washer bottle etc.

    It literally connected to the intercooler itself.
    n75,recirc valve are all attached back on.
    #5
  7. Oranoco
    Offline

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,188
    Likes Received:
    199
    [Aug 26, 2012]
    The offending component in person.

    [​IMG]
    #6
  8. AR-rkon
    Online

    AR-rkon BZZZZ.... caffeine fueled electrical engineer Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    78
    [Aug 26, 2012]
    yep, MAP (Boost) sensor.

    only way is to add a MAP Boss to the pipe or add a pipe that has the correct boss. Forge sell a short pipe section that has the correct boss in and can be plumbed in with some silicon hose...
    #7
  9. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    315
    [Aug 26, 2012]
    +1
    #8
  10. steady jay
    Offline

    steady jay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 27, 2012]
    If I cut out the original boss then stick on the inside of the new pipe then drill 2 small holes and 1 big one for the sensor and attach that from the outside would the boss being inside the pipe disrupt airflow too much?

    Its a ghetto way of doing it but I've only got today to get it runnin before going back to work.
    #9
  11. AR-rkon
    Online

    AR-rkon BZZZZ.... caffeine fueled electrical engineer Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    78
    [Aug 27, 2012]
    To be honest, that's kinda what I have done, and it does work.

    But you have to be sure that it's air tight and secure, as if it's not, at best you have it running badly. At worse, something will come off and make it into the cylinder.
    #10
  12. steady jay
    Offline

    steady jay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Aug 27, 2012]
    Was having a rummage around my shed and found black silicone sealant so I've sealed the s**t out of it, so should be good to go!
    #11

Share This Page