1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Selling an S3 with a knackered Haldex controller?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by jojo, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,483
    Likes Received:
    1,875
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    Simple question really, Yes or no?

    Shall I fix it before I sell it, or sell it as it is?

    It's quite surprising how quick an S3 with 2WD and 250bhp is, it handles pretty good in the dry also with only the front wheels driven! lol :racer:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 31, 2014]

  3. LiveWire
    Offline

    LiveWire S3X

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    Depends on how "honest" a person you are? a lot of people would just sell it "sold as seen" and let the new owner deal with the problem.

    Not that I would do this, but im sure most members on here have bought/sold cars with ongoing problems.

    Your call :beerchug:
    #2
  4. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,483
    Likes Received:
    1,875
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    Oh, I'm definitely going to tell the buyer! Just wondering if it's worth fixing it before I sell it, or take a knockdown price for it? I know it's the Haldex controller at fault...
    #3
  5. LiveWire
    Offline

    LiveWire S3X

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    Well I guess if the potential buyer wants to fit an uprated blue controler, it could be in their interest to pay a little less then buy the uprated haldex.

    But then again if you advertise the car saying it needs a new haldex controler it could put people off.
    #4
  6. LiveWire
    Offline

    LiveWire S3X

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    And looking on the Bay you can get a Blue Controler for £450 :eyebrows:

    Its just a shame I need a new clutch :banghead:
    #5
  7. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,483
    Likes Received:
    1,875
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    A lot of money for what it does really, and I'm not knocking £450 of the price of the car because it's knackered! lol

    Anyone wants an S3 for £3k? Please PM me. :sign_plug:
    #6
  8. Dansmith
    Offline

    Dansmith Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    Can someone now lock the thread for JoJo's shameless plug??? :p
    #7
  9. Sam_
    Offline

    Sam_ Down under

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    367
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    I have a standard one I could possibly sell, has done 105,000km.
    #8
  10. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    Lol @ JO JO....
    It seems cheap enough at that price ...good luck..
    #9
  11. S3-Oski
    Offline

    S3-Oski Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    probably a silly question, but how can you tell its not working,

    cheers,
    #10
  12. LiveWire
    Offline

    LiveWire S3X

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    Lol, what I ment is if a potential buyer wants to get a blue uprated controler you could knock off the price of a standard haldex, then the new buyer could buy a blue one. I didnt mean for you to knock the total price of an uprated controler off the asking price.
    #11
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,385
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    Which apy is it, the 99 or 00 one as the 00 was a hybrid facelift?
    #12
  14. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,727
    Likes Received:
    1,180
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    Mine is 2wd at the minute, my diff went bye bye. And its horrid.

    People buy the s3 for the 4wd, so good luck with it
    #13
  15. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,483
    Likes Received:
    1,875
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    00 one of course, it's still a prefacelift, just the interior has some facelift features like different interior lights, and DIS displays door open etc.
    #14
  16. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,483
    Likes Received:
    1,875
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    Traction control light is lit up on dashboard, and a quick scan with VAGCOM says there's no comms with 4wd system. And it's a lot quicker through the gears it's shocking! Amazing how much the 4wd system saps the power, I'm beginning to see why 1.8T Sport owners with a remap are enjoying their cars so much. So you lose a bit of traction in wet conditions, but having just fwd to adjust the chassis mid corner is much better than having the unpredictable Haldex. Car drives like a LCR with shorter gearing!
    #15
  17. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,385
    Likes Received:
    1,244
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    Ah so no facelift headlights, shame, although I could mod those in no worries :)

    Whats the car spec, mileage etc
    #16
  18. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    119
    [Jul 25, 2011]
    Have you checked the wiring/for corrosion in the plug.

    Have fixed one with this issue before and it turned out to be a corroded plug...
    #17
  19. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,483
    Likes Received:
    1,875
    [Jul 25, 2011]
    All the info is below Nige,

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/sale-audi-cars/125001-2000-apy-s3-£3k.html


    Yup.
    #18
  20. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jul 25, 2011]
    hmm, ive had my traction control light come on numerous times. turn ignition off and back on and its gone. then few days later its back again.

    just wondering does this sound like a fualty haldex? similar to your issue, just not on ALL the time?

    Thanks
    #19
  21. Sam_
    Offline

    Sam_ Down under

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    367
    [Jul 25, 2011]
    G200 sensor possibly. Mine was doing the same, I also had a bent bracket but only found that out after I'd bought a new sensor. VCDS should tell you if its the G200? I think from memory, it's under ABS.

    If I was over there I'd have lent you mine to try. It's an easy swap, it just unclips and is under the steering column. That's on a facelift, not sure if they are the same. I guess yours is facelift based on your rear lights?
    #20
  22. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jul 25, 2011]
    yeah mines a facelift.

    G200? never even heard of this. expensive? just had a look under steering column...cant see alot, or whats what.
    #21
  23. Sam_
    Offline

    Sam_ Down under

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    367
    [Jul 25, 2011]
    #22
  24. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Jul 25, 2011]
    hm, sounds like its going to be this sensor...bracket isnt bent on mine.

    ive got VCDS lite, but still waiting for a new OBDII - USB cable, so cant do any more scanning yet.
    #23

Share This Page