1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

See we've got the 1.5MB ASN Banner again

Discussion in 'Site Support & Announcements' started by AndyMac, Feb 1, 2007.

  1. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    While everyone else manages with a few kb
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Booth_S4

    Booth_S4 Riding on V8 power

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    0
    take it you dont have broadband!?
     
  4. Olly_K

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    2
    well, that shows your how often you come on here. Its never been changed ! only the adverts !

    once its loaded, browsers should call it from cache so theres no need to load it again. Check your browser settings.

    Alternatively, contact me when your next thinking of visiting and I'll redo the whole site for you
     
  5. Caesium

    Caesium My BM is fixed!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    :haha:
     
  6. Ed

    Ed Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not to bothered about it, as I have high speed internet connection wherever I am, but how about making it in flash? Would be considerably smaller as it doesnt have to have a new picture to download for each of the transition/gradient images when changing from one pic to another
     
  7. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    No I do have broadband thanks (who doesn't), which is why I haven't noticed before. Just thought from the thread below that it had been compressed to something sensible. It's a bit Bill Gates that's all i.e. lets not bother doing something efficiently, lets just recommend bigger bandwidth.
    I just noticed it eating into my G3 bandwidth when on the road.
     
  8. Olly_K

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    2
    well, I'll make it a static banner, with just the gearnob in it over the weekend
     
  9. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator quattro Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,391
    Likes Received:
    2,476
    Just the gearknob huh, go Flesh Gordon! :superman:
     
  10. Olly_K

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    2
    rofl ! right, i'll make it 4.7gb now :p
     
  11. Olly_K

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok its done
     
  12. TDI-line

    TDI-line Uber Post Whore

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,061
    Likes Received:
    39
    Nice banner.
     
  13. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Even on 2MB broadband the site is so much more responsive, thankyou
     
  14. Caesium

    Caesium My BM is fixed!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    blimey the difference is amazing!
     
  15. Onlyme

    Onlyme Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    0
    What the f--k is a banner ? Is it something that that prat Beckham puts on his head and looks like a **** ?:jester:
     

Share This Page