1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SDS high retrofitted to mk2 RNSE (non factory SDS model)

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by wez3570, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. wez3570
    Offline

    wez3570 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Jan 27, 2012]
    Just thought I'd post this info for others with non SDS mk2 RNSE units that would like it retrofitted.

    Just had SDS retrofitted by Hazzydayz, took less than an hour. All working perfectly :)
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2012
    #1
    Mbagge01 and Paullie like this.
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,358
    [Jan 27, 2012]
    Is it an expensive mod?

    Interested in this.
    #2
  4. wez3570
    Offline

    wez3570 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Jan 27, 2012]
    £150, not bad I thought.
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 16, 2012]
    Did he give you a dvd to use if firmware updated by new map dvd?
    #4
  6. wez3570
    Offline

    wez3570 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Mar 17, 2012]
    No, he said future map DVD's wouldn't affect the SDS.
    #5
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 17, 2012]
    Strange as thats not what he said to others I've spoken to sometime back.
    #6
  8. Rob2k68
    Offline

    Rob2k68 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 20, 2012]
    Sorry guys - what is SDS ? I'm toying with fitting an RNS-E and have seen this mentioned a few times.

    Cheers !
    #7
  9. gary3306
    Offline

    gary3306 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Mar 20, 2012]
    Speech Dialogue System. You can control all the aspects of the unit by voice command, ie speaking the address for the satnav instead of having to type it in
    #8
  10. Rob2k68
    Offline

    Rob2k68 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 20, 2012]
    Ah gotcha - Thanks :icon_thumright:
    #9
  11. gary3306
    Offline

    gary3306 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Mar 20, 2012]
    There's a 'Thanks' and a 'Like' button under every post ;)
    #10
  12. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 20, 2012]
    Can I ask, did you have all of your old nav routes still in the nav unit when you got it back?

    #11
  13. wez3570
    Offline

    wez3570 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    20
    [Mar 31, 2012]
    I had programmed 'HOME' into the nav before SDS was fitted. It was still there after, can't remember if any old routes were still there.
    #12

Share This Page