1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SDS Hack

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by aristides, Sep 12, 2009.

  1. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello @ all

    I`ve been trying to do the SDS Hack for a while now and i can`t seem to get it right.

    I have downloaded a zip file , found on the net, containing all the crucial information for the update i burnt the CD but nothing happens.

    My current software is 650, and i am almost certain that my RNS-e is an 2007 model.

    What am i doing wrong?
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 21, 2009
    #1
  2. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also noticed that this SDS folder is also present in my 2009 DVD with the maps.

    Should i include this SDS folder when i try to burn the CD for the SDS hack or not?
    #2
  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    No just burn the hack, the sds folder will be on the dvd given its the same dvd's for sds enabled & not enabled rns units.

    PM with email address & will email sds hack if cant get working.

    Make sure not to use windows burning tool, use nero & also type of disc seems to make difference when I was doing someone's recently, try dvd or cd to write.
    #3
  4. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    2
    funnily enough, I just did it the other day too. Used Nero to burn the files to a CD and after inserting the CD it did the upgrade. The crack I used it marked as version 660, is yours? It might think its the same version as already there and not update it if it is a cracked version but down as version 650.

    Just need to order the microphone now LOL
    #4
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yeah the sds needs to be 1 level up interms of numbering of firmware, so should be 0660 after the hack in car info or setup on rns, given its effectively a new firmware level, so if its labelled as 650 it wont upgrade.
    #5
  6. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go guys job done

    Actually NHN i did use the CD with the SDS folder in, at first nothing happened, but i decided to change Channel 97 (Adaptation VCDS) to allow downgrades.
    Since i was trying to update and not downgrade nothing happened again.

    But after i changed the setting back to 0 , meaning to allow only updates, it finally began to update.

    Everything set now, i guess i need a mic now too , lol

    Can you give me the part number for the mic since i seem to have misplaced my paper with the part numbers, cheers
    #6
  7. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    2
    8L1 862 373 A for the mic

    8L0 972 623 for an angled connector

    or

    8D0 972 643 for the normal connector

    Not sure why there are two different connectors, maybe one with sunroof control etc?

    Im thinking the mic is gonna be highly overpriced too LOL
    #7
  8. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    #8
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    Looks good to me mate, £10 is a steal as they're 2-3 times that from dealer.
    #9
  10. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    So all i would have to do, to get the SDS to work is to wire this mic to my RNS-e?

    In which pins should i connect it?
    I have a diagram of the RNS-e and there are 4 "Mic-pins"
    Got 2 mic in , one + and one -
    and 2 mic out , also one + and one -

    Whats the deal with this?
    #10
  11. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    #11
  12. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    2
    #12
  13. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can`t really find the difference.

    They are the same right?
    The only thing different is the shape of the cable coming out of the mic.
    #13
  14. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    2
    As far as I know that is the difference. I dont know why it is necessary though???
    #14
  15. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone explain to me exactly what the SDS hack is, what it does and what the benefits are?

    Thanks. -I ran a search and found a few "how do I do the SDS hack" threads, but so far nothing which tells me WHAT it is...

    keith
    #15
  16. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    2
    It make your RNS-E think its fitted with Speech Directed System (I'm guessing thats what it stands for LOL). This lets you press the Push To Talk button on a multifunction steering wheel and issue commands through a microphone to your RNS-E. I thought it was only of use with the bluetooth prep but I've learned you can input destinations, change CD/MP3 tracks/radio stations too etc.
    #16
  17. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok fellas its me again, i need some advice on how to wire the mic so i have both Bluetooth functionality and SDS support.

    Im thinking of this loom :
    [​IMG]


    It`s supposed to be for the RNS-e but it seems like i have to remove the pins and connect them to the quadlock myself. Right? The plug&play adaptors are twice the price!

    How should i wire the mic? There are 2 Mic in ports (+ and -) and 2 Mic out
    Should i first wire the mic to the mic IN ports and then use the mic out pins to connect it to the BT module?

    Cheers
    #17
  18. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got the mic delivered today which one is the + feed and which the - ?

    Got a white cable in Pin 1 of the mic , and a black in Pin 2.
    How should i connect them to the MIC in ports of the RNS-e?
    #18
  19. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    pin 1 of mic goes to pin 1 of connector c & pin 2 of mic goes to pin 7 of connector c for sds operation that is & then wire out to BT module if you have.
    #19
  20. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks a lot u`re the best :)
    #20
  21. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    2
    The loom I got for my RNS-E had wires for phone (BT?) module in connection C so I just unclipped them & used them in pins 1&7.

    Been playing with it this weekend but have a question Nigel, when you choice CD it goes to play a CD, can you get it to select MP3?
    #21
  22. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sadly no , SDS doesn`t support further selections like MP3 etc

    S*cks!!!
    #22
  23. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hold on a sec.

    The loom has the mic directly wired to the BT module right?

    But we need to get it from the RNS-e to the BT module.

    Should i try this parallel ? Or use both MIC In and OUT ports?
    Which is easier?

    I guess i would have to take my loom apart to feed the wires :S
    #23
  24. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thought about buying a BT module but remembered I hate phones so didnt bother LOL

    Im guessing your wiring will be different with it.

    shame speaking CD doesn't just take it back to what you were last listening to!
    #24
  25. bluequattro
    Offline

    bluequattro Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nigel, when you say wire out to bluetooth module, which wires are you speaking of? my loom has 4 grey wires which have yellow repair wires attached to them are these the wires you mean?

    cheers
    Cal
    #25
  26. 1wheelonly
    Offline

    1wheelonly cabriolet

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,060
    Likes Received:
    0

    the mic needs to go to the rns-e first for sds on the mic + in & mic - in, then out the rns-e to the bluetooth module using the mic + out & mic - out.
    i too had to seek advice from nigel, therefore this is correct. lol
    #26
  27. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    No, stupid if you ask me cause I only use sd slots, ooh I wonder if there's a command for sd or drive, goes to check...........

    You need to wire ur mic to the rns-e unit 1st, then wire it back out from the rns to the BT module, easily confused but take time & test before fitting all in place, using mic in/out on quadlock connector on rns so 4 wires, so in your case, cut into the loom & join it at the pillar where the mic comes down from & where the BT module wires goto under the seat, then run 4 wires to rns & join to the cut ends & rns ends need the repair wire pins to plug into the connector c, next to nothing from audi, make sure you test 1st with twisted wires on the joins then when tested successfully bullet crimp or solder.

    yeah I agree

    In your case you need to pin out your wiring so check the end which has the plug for the BT module & work out which pin they're attached to on the BT module plug then can work out where to put them with the bare ends as such

    Sound advice.

    PS. Anyone got £70 they can lend me :whistle2::lmfao:
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2009
    #27
  28. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    2
    £70? Not Euros? LOL
    #28
  29. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    Aristotle any chance you can resize your 1st post image as I hate scroll bars, lol.
    #29
  30. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    I could , but you spelled my name wrong :box:

    Both great men , but don`t forget that Aris (Aristides) was the God of Fire!
    Aristotle was -just- a philosopher :faint:


    Hmm, no edit button available for my first post.

    Maybe a mod could delete the screenshot, no need for it to be there
    #30
  31. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    Nah mate was just having a joke with yer, I knew your real username, lol

    I just asked a mod to edit it for yer.
    #31
  32. aristides
    Offline

    aristides Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool mate thanks, got a 22" screen, never thought it would annoy anyone, lol

    May the power of fire be with you son , lol
    #32
  33. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    lmao
    #33
  34. bluequattro
    Offline

    bluequattro Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    many many thanks guys this is finally starting to make sense now .

    cheers
    Cal
    #34
  35. panamadi
    Offline

    panamadi Strider

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys
    I have RNSE with bluetooth function on a multi function wheel, do I need any extra wiring/hardware to get this SDS hack to work?
    Also where would I get the hack and do I need Vagcom to make it work?

    Cheers in advance guys!
    #35
  36. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    Not being funny but this has been discussed at length in this thread alone so please read it 1st then will be glad to help on points you dont get.
    #36
  37. panamadi
    Offline

    panamadi Strider

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have actually read the thread at length and if you it read, it doesn't actually make it clear whether you need any extra kit if you've already got RNSE and bluetooth already fitted.

    Soooo I was wondering if you do need any extra kit????

    Cheers in advance
    #37
  38. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    I have read it mate few times, but to clarify if you have BT & RNS already along with an MFSW then you need to amend the mic wiring that currently goes to the BT module directly, so need to tap into this & redirect the mic wires to the rns then from the rns back out to the BT module, then do the sds hack via disc & you should be good to go, the info for connecting is in the thread, of course you would need to find your wires in the passenger front pillar to cut & join onto, need some .35-.5 wire & some repair wires from audi to plug into the rns connectors.
    #38
  39. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    2
    do I remember reading about an interface for the RNS-E & ipod & treated it like a CD multi-changer? Maybe this can be controlled with the voice command as opposed to MP3?

    Could have been a dream though LOL
    #39
  40. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yeah was dream as was shite, seriously it was crap idea from audi & cop out what is nw the AMI on new 10 cars
    #40

Share This Page