1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SD Sat Nav

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by faigy90, Jun 8, 2014.

  1. faigy90

    faigy90 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi I have just taken delivery of a new A3 sportback S Line.

    Is there a cheaper way of getting the Sd card Nav enabled than paying Audi £500+ ?! E.g buying card off ebay.

    Cheers,
    Craig
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,158
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Nope
     
  4. Pulp84

    Pulp84 Well-Known Member
    Audi S3

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,936
    Likes Received:
    758
    What he said....
     
  5. faigy90

    faigy90 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    6
    Didnt think so. I've read some stuff on these forums but thought it was bull. Will stick with the trusty tom tom then as £500 + is a rip off.
     
  6. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,158
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    IMO not a rip off, well worth it for integration. It's been discussed at length and at end of the day each to their own.
     
  7. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18
    yes there is- Audi will activate it for £168 (this price may vary dealer to dealer), and you just buy an SD card from ebay (has to be an official Audi one) - I have confirmed this with the dealer- so £210 - £260 TOTAL depending on if you want 2013 or 2014 maps -retrofitting the nav is simple as every A3 has "sd nav preparation"
     
  8. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,158
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    This really has been discussed at length on multiple threads ( search sd nav ) the general consensus is it's about £500 quid all in. Most garages will charge considerably more for activation.
     
  9. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18
    Still worth asking your dealer how much the activation ALONE is - my dealer quoted £500 for the SD card and £168 for the activation - but obvs I am sourcing the card myself.

    Nothing to lose in asking your dealer!
     
  10. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,158
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Totally agree with you mate, just in general average of £500 inc SD off eBay.
     
    seniorjj likes this.
  11. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,158
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    But then again buying new I'd always have tech pack but that's a different kettle of fish. Just changed my order to tech pack but it's down to the person at the time and what they think
     
  12. Pulp84

    Pulp84 Well-Known Member
    Audi S3

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,936
    Likes Received:
    758
    The margins must be wafers thin on the SD retro fit - my dealer gave me a 15% off voucher for dealer accessories and in the small print it excludes "SD Sat Nav A1, A3, Q3" and "DVD headrest screen system" which I think is for the Q5/Q7.

    I would have got it with 15% off. I got the voucher due to a service issue with my A1 earlier in the year, got to spend it soon but not sure what on.
     
  13. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18
    If I could justify £1.5k I would do, but it's just far too much for something which doesn't give incrementally that much function - mainly aesthetic.
     
  14. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18
    For the card/maps itself you're probably right- hence why it's £500 for a card. The activation itself is just a code, they will get large margins on that part
     
  15. Pulp84

    Pulp84 Well-Known Member
    Audi S3

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,936
    Likes Received:
    758
    I thought the code came in the box with the SD card? My salesman showed me one that he had been opened and thought that's how it looked. The labour is where they make the money to get it to work I thought, but yes the card it self would have minimal margin.
     
  16. frazzeld

    frazzeld Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    21
    Who has bought a card off ebay and had it activated by Audi?
     
  17. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18

    Good point, maybe I am mistaken in my assumptions!

    Sounds like you need: SD Card + activation code + specific code for the SD card. I think I may have been told wrong info! Sorry guys
     
  18. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18
  19. Pulp84

    Pulp84 Well-Known Member
    Audi S3

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    1,936
    Likes Received:
    758
  20. frazzeld

    frazzeld Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    21
    it's just an update to the latest map 2014, you must have avtivated sd card unit.....expensive for an update, i have asked them the question regarding already activated units
     
  21. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yeah seems that way - so is the general price still about £500 all in to get a dealer to do it? (I know this varies!)
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18
    This place does it for £550 - A3 8V - 2012>

    I may ask if my dealer can do it all in for £500
     
  24. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,158
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Should be fine, most places will do it for around there.
     
    seniorjj likes this.
  25. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,158
    Likes Received:
    1,008

    Its a massive difference in terms of resolution, quality and size. Bit like a iPad or a iPad Retina Again some people don't care / can't see the difference.
     
  26. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18
    Agreed, and there is the touch pad and DIS lane info & speed camera info. But resolution quality and size are all "look good" things, which I couldn't justify, and didn't want to prioritise over other stuff - obviously is a lot better tho! And a retina iPad is probably only gonna be 30% more than a non retina, whereas in this case it's nearly 200% more.
     
    JohnM100 likes this.
  27. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,158
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Yer it's expensive, over priced IMO but the Pioneer sat nav unit (6 years old now) I have in my S3 is same res but smaller screen as tech pack so didn't want step down and tech pack does look awesome.

    I'm pretty sure the SD nav does get the DIS stuff as well?
     
  28. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yeah makes sense!! All depends on budget and history etc. Yeah it does most of the DIS stuff but the tech pack has additional lane information apparently
     
  29. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,158
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Cool beans, don't think any system gets the speed cameras sadly.
     
  30. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18
    Oh yeah I meant speed limit display :)
     
  31. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,158
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    I won't have that unless also pay for an additional driver assist package. Basically everything is an option lol
     
  32. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18
    Oh right I see- i think the test car I drove had active lane assist so hence included it!
     
  33. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18
    FYI spoke to Hatfield Audi who will do the full fit+sd card for £495, same as original price (obvs no discount) - seems reasonable tho
     
  34. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,158
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    Yer not too bad to be fair, Audi were clever and made it nice and easy for used car market to upgrade.
     
  35. seniorjj

    seniorjj Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    18
    Does anyone know if you get any future updates included with SD if retrofitted (or at all?)
     
  36. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,001
    Likes Received:
    861
    Only with Tech pack I think.
     
  37. veeeight

    veeeight I am a very pretty girl
    VCDS Map User Black Edition

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    4,817
    Likes Received:
    2,831
    You will get the speed limit of the road you are on, in the MMI Nav, as part of the Tech Pack.
    You just won't get it in the DIS, unless you specify other driver assist aids that require the camera :)
     
  38. glospete

    glospete Well-Known Member
    Team Glacier Audi TT Team Ibis Audi A3

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    439
    And the speed limits shown in the DIS are dynamic i.e. if there are road works or a speed limit has changed the camera actually reads this sign and displays it in the DIS. If there are no signs shown then the system just shows the speed limits shown from the navigation. But to get this system (which is a no-charge option) you must have optioned the Tech Pack (PNQ) and Active Lane Assist (PCB) - else there's no front camera.
     
  39. glospete

    glospete Well-Known Member
    Team Glacier Audi TT Team Ibis Audi A3

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    439
    I thought you got 2 online updates with SD navigation and 5 updates with Tech Pack. I've seen it written somewhere but not sure where.

    EDIT - found it for the Tech Pack navigation from a post by cemmerson:


    A3 models with MMI Navigation Plus (Technology packages
    PNQ and WB4) built from build week 22 2013 (week starting 27 May) onwards now include a free navigation map update service.

    The initially installed mapping always uses the latest available version. This can be updated five times free of charge, with one update released every six months.

    How can these updates be completed?
    Customers can download the map update from myAudi to an SD card (a 32GB class 10 card is required) and upload it to the car.

    The first update will be available from Monday 4 November. Free updates will be available from build week 22 and build week 45 every year until five updates are reached. Further updates are available from £186 recommended retail price including VAT (excluding labour charge) at Centres.

    How long will the update take to complete?
    It may take up to two hours to upload to the MMI. The update is interrupted if the engine is switched off, but automatically resumes at the same point when the car is restarted.
     
    #37 glospete, Jun 10, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2014
  40. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,001
    Likes Received:
    861
    Who? :p
     
  41. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,001
    Likes Received:
    861
    Yes, they are dynamic, they recognise temporary limits, and the overhead ones for variable limits on motorways too. I find it quite useful, though it isn't infallible.
     
  42. The Challinor

    The Challinor Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Audi S3

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,158
    Likes Received:
    1,008
    That's handy then I do often ask "what's the limit on this road?" Haha
     

Share This Page