1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SD cards / Stereo in new S4

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)' started by Jamespaul, Jun 22, 2010.

  1. Jamespaul
    Offline

    Jamespaul New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Last week i finally took the plunge and ordered a brand new S4 in spint blue. (so glad the VAT rate doesnt increase with immediate effect!)

    In preperation for getting the car, I want to copy some music onto an SD card.

    Does the standards stereo have 1 or 2 slots?
    Do you know what the maximise size card works? 4GB, 8GB??

    Thanks,
    James
    #1
  2. Necroscope
    Offline

    Necroscope Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sprint blue, my favourite ;)

    Come on let us know the full spec and due date.

    Stereo will take upto 32GB, maybe even 64. My stereo only has the one slot.
    #2
  3. Jamespaul
    Offline

    Jamespaul New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Due to budget, not gone mad on options, but hoping it will still be nice!

    Sprint blue metallic
    Supersport seats in black nappa leather
    19” 7 arm wheels
    Audi Drive select with damper control

    Tyre pressure warning
    Hill hold assist

    Hoping for it to be delivered on September 1st.
    Sold my 330D M Sport this weekend, so will feel like a long wait!

    Have you tried a 32GB card?
    I didnt think you could get anything larger than 8GB?

    James
    #3
  4. Necroscope
    Offline

    Necroscope Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    3
    I only have a 4GB card and that only has a GB of music on it. Never tried anything larger, sorry. One of the gurus will be along soon to correct me as well probably ;)

    Its worth the wait for the new plate, although the time will drag.

    Anyway thats a nice spec, i do note that you have omitted B&O, thats a mistake IMO. One of the best options you have is the ADS, it makes a great car far easier to live with :) There are some pics of my car on here, if you fancy reminding yourself you have order the right colour on the right car.
    #4
  5. Jamespaul
    Offline

    Jamespaul New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would have loved to have ordered the B&O speakers, but as I just missed out on getting my order in before Audi's price increase, the car was already more than I budgeted for. In the BMW I fitted a JL Audio 12W6V2 sub with a JL 500w mono block amp. Thinking about installing this in the S4....

    From your photo, i guess you leave near Stafford ;-)

    James
    #5
  6. Necroscope
    Offline

    Necroscope Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    3
    I live in Bloxwich, just outside of Walsall, i prefer to travel to Stafford Audi as i hate Wolverhampton, bunch of muppets! My car was actually ordered from Stratford as they offered the best deal at the time.

    We all push the budget when ordering a car, well done for being able to stop when you need too. Never fancied messing with the stereo on a new car, but hey if you know what you are doing cool :)
    #6
  7. k3nnis
    Offline

    k3nnis Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    When using the sd card to play back music on a MY10 A4 will it display the track name on the display?

    Thanks,
    K.
    #7
  8. Necroscope
    Offline

    Necroscope Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    3
  9. k3nnis
    Offline

    k3nnis Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks :)
    #9
  10. Crazyfool
    Offline

    Crazyfool Lead boot

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    26
    I have 1 slot and a 16GB card. Works fine and the MMI even recognises subfolders
    #10
  11. Bracer
    Offline

    Bracer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    I have a 32GB in mine and all is good. PS its full and that like a life time of tunes:rock:
    #11
  12. Jamespaul
    Offline

    Jamespaul New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you have to format the SD card in any particular way e.g FAT32, or just use it as bought? (Thought I'd ask before I spent ages copying all my music on!)

    James
    #12
  13. Bracer
    Offline

    Bracer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi James, yes as anything over 8GB is a SDHC card you need a compatable card reader to be able to format is in FAT32 so windows can reconise the full card size,

    Thanks.

    Steve.
    #13

Share This Page