1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SD card

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by joinerman, Apr 9, 2014.

  1. joinerman
    Offline

    joinerman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Apr 9, 2014]
    Put some music on a 2gb sd card a while back and it plays fine in the car, took it indoors last night and put some more music on it, won't play any of the new stuff in the car but put it back in pc and it plays all the new tracks, what's going on ?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 20, 2014]

  3. TOM.S
    Online

    TOM.S Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    49
    [Apr 9, 2014]
    This is happening to me all the time.
    Its because of the format of the file.../ bitrate of them MP3's
    Try converting the music files to different format- then convert them to MP3 again.
    Or just download it again but from a different source.
    #2
  4. joinerman
    Offline

    joinerman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Apr 9, 2014]
    Agh right thanks, don't have a clue how to do any of that, i just put the card in the puter open media player, drag the tracks i want to the right hand side of the screen & click sync, that's my limit, lol
    #3
  5. A4_MaJiK
    Offline

    A4_MaJiK Azeem

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    103
    [Apr 10, 2014]
    As above really. I use a program called "MP3 quality" something or the other and it allows you to change the bit rate of mp3 files. They tend to work after I've converted them to 320kbps bit rate. No idea why this happens though.
    #4
  6. joinerman
    Offline

    joinerman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Jun 25, 2014]
    Well I've sussed out how to get my music onto the SD card & all plays well, EXCEPT when i try to add more tracks to the card, they go on the card ok & play on the computer but put the card in the car & they won't show up, all MP3
    What's going on ?
    #5
  7. GoneSouth
    Offline

    GoneSouth Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jun 26, 2014]
    I understand that there is a limit to the number of folders and files that the RNS-E can handle on a single card. Also, there may be a limit on the length of file names too.

    As for 4GB SD cards I am struggling to find any of the older cards for sale anywhere. Am having to make do with a handful of 2GB cards but find you can get plenty of albums on them. My RNS-E is the 2 SD card slot version - the DVD slot is used by the SatNav.

    The only 4GB cards I can find are SD"HC"/Class4 upwards type. Hopefully forum members can suggest an outlet for the 4GB SD cards.
    .
    #6
  8. Jimbo.King
    Online

    Jimbo.King Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Jun 27, 2014]
    #7
  9. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Jun 27, 2014]
    512

    Pathname must be less than 64 characters.
    #8
  10. razza1
    Offline

    razza1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    131
    [Jun 27, 2014]
    I got one recently, was a link on here somewhere...works a treat
    #9
  11. joinerman
    Offline

    joinerman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Jun 27, 2014]
    Can you explain to a thicko like me what you mean by pathname
    #10
  12. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Jun 28, 2014]
    See What is pathname? - A Word Definition From the Webopedia Computer Dictionary

    Say you've got a file called track1.mp3 stored in a folder called Album1 which is in the top level (root) folder.

    Then the filename (obviously) is track1.mp3 (10 characters), and the pathname is \Folder1\Track1.mp3 (19 characters)

    The pathname is all the information need to get to the file from the root folder.
    #11
  13. joinerman
    Offline

    joinerman Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    70
    [Jun 28, 2014]
    Thanks Dave, I've shortened all the titles on most of the music & now they play.

    At long last , Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeehhhhhhhhhhhhh
    #12
  14. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Jun 29, 2014]
    A common problem ...
    #13
  15. razza1
    Offline

    razza1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    131
    [Jun 29, 2014]
    #14
  16. al_p
    Offline

    al_p Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jun 30, 2014]
    #15
  17. GoneSouth
    Offline

    GoneSouth Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jun 30, 2014]
    It was more the £23 price tag that made my buttocks clench !!!
    #16
  18. Jimbo.King
    Online

    Jimbo.King Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Jun 30, 2014]
    Didn't realise the postage was so high, it was the only one I could find with a decent price as others want £23 just for one,
    I got a 8 from here https://flashmemo.co.uk/platinum-4gb-sd-card.html and they do free postage but they don't have any left in stock.
    #17

Share This Page