1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sd card Which one???

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by showyS3, Jul 19, 2007.

  1. tombs
    Offline

    tombs New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2008]
    Boy do I feel stupid....I was using completely the wrong type of card! Anyway thanks to those who responded.

    Cheers

    Tom
    #41
  2. 3.2 Ju
    Online

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    66
    [Jan 28, 2008]
    LOL!!
    #42
  3. L60N
    Offline

    L60N Guest

    [Jan 28, 2008]
    Easily done dude, theres so many types about these days :blink: :wtf:
    #43
  4. tombs
    Offline

    tombs New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2008]
    Ok, how am I supposed to list the mp3 files on the card? E.g. I created several folders with the name of a group/band and in that folder place all the mp3 files for that group. E.g. Folder called Bloc Party, inside all the songs in mp3 format from the album a weekend in the city. Next folder Foo fighters and all the songs from the album Echoes and silence and so on..

    But, when I insert the card all I get is the first folder (in this case Bloc Party) and none of the others?

    Just wondered how you guys are lodaing your sd cards up?

    Cheers

    Tom
    #44
  5. 3.2 Ju
    Online

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    66
    [Jan 28, 2008]
    Just press return!
    #45
  6. tombs
    Offline

    tombs New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2008]
    LOL, of course...thank you!:icon_thumright:
    #46
  7. 3.2 Ju
    Online

    3.2 Ju Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,316
    Likes Received:
    66
    [Jan 28, 2008]
    No probs, the Sd card slots are one of the best things about the RNS-E:icon_thumright:
    #47
  8. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Jan 29, 2008]
    It's not documented - most new users have to ask!
    #48
  9. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 27, 2008]
    4GB SD cards here, very good price too.
    #49
  10. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,359
    [Mar 23, 2009]
    And resurrecting the thread again, I purchased 4x Kingston 2Gb memory cards (non HC) from mymemory.co.uk

    Formatted the cards on my Mac to FAT32 MS-DOS standard.

    Went into 'Finder' (equivalent on PC of Start + right mouse click: 'Explore' for the Microsoft brigade), then copied over the albums from my music folder directly onto the SD card (as I couldn't find a way within iTunes to copy direct to memory card as the media device is not visible).

    The cards work fine in the RNS-E, HOWEVER (!) when I go to view them there are always a load of files above the music files which mirror the names but start with _XXXXXX.mp3

    So for instance if there was only a single track listed in an album folder I might see:

    _The_Chain.mp3
    The Chain.mp3

    The top file wont play, so the head unit looks at it, ignores it and skips to the next file which then plays. If you make a compilation file with 50+ tracks this is annoying as the head unit has to discount 50 odd files before it finds a file to play.

    I have stuck the cards back into the reader device in BOTH the Mac and my work PC and as far as I can see the _.XXXX.mp3 files do not exist?????

    Any tips would be gratefully welcomed!(are these a result of music file metadata: album cover etc...) that are stored as part of the iTunes link files?

    cheers
    W
    #50
  11. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 23, 2009]
    It's Mac clutter on FAT format cards. It's normally hidden by the Mac OS, but windows and the RNSe can see them. I use blue harvest to keep non mac disks "clean" it cost 13 bucks. Nice little solution, it runs as a preference pane, just tell it to keep non mac disks clean, job done!

    http://www.zeroonetwenty.com/blueharvest/
    #51
  12. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,359
    [Mar 23, 2009]
    Wow John, is there anything you don't know about RNS_E / Mac / music files!!!! cheers - I owe you too many beers already!
    #52
  13. klauster
    Offline

    klauster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    112
    [Mar 23, 2009]
    Warren, you are aware that you can get 4gb SD cards that work perfectly fine with RNS_E? Im sure you are, just checking. I use Transcend SD cards (TS4GSDC) in case you want to look for some

    K
    #53
  14. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,359
    [Mar 23, 2009]
    Initially did a search for these and no-one was showing any in stock. In my hurry to get something other than use the crappy iPod dock I got the deal on the 4 pack of Kingston 2Gb cards. I am going to get some of the 4Gb cards as most of my music is stored at 320kbps so I don't get a lot of tracks on there with the 2Gb (150 max).

    I take it you still can't save any additional POI (speed cameras etc...) info onto the cards to supplement the RNS-E POI's?

    cheers

    Warren
    #54
  15. klauster
    Offline

    klauster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    112
    [Mar 23, 2009]
    I don't think so no, I have a couple of the 4gb cards sealed if you struggle to find some, id happily let you have them for what i got them for
    #55
  16. klauster
    Offline

    klauster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    112
  17. klauster
    Offline

    klauster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    112
  18. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,359
    [Mar 23, 2009]
    #58
  19. liam
    Offline

    liam waiting, waiting, waiting

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2009]
    Thanks for the thread revival, has saved me doing similar. :beerchug:
    #59
  20. chrisred
    Offline

    chrisred New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    Sorry to bump this again but I'm struggling, I have a 2gig card and purchased another 4gig card from amazon (4gig transcend 133x)

    I initially just copied a few mp3s on and these worked, now I have tried to add more RNS-E just won't show anything (sticks on loading)

    Here is what I have done / narrowed out so far
    -500 file limit - Only at 200 - 2 out of 4 gig
    -Card is FAT32 not NTFS
    -Since it worked with a few mp3s have tried removing some but still no luck (reads fine on multiple PCs and macs)
    -Card is non HC
    -All MP3s no aac etc

    The only thing I've just thought of is certain characters in filenames, is there anything which could cause RNS to play up? Just removed an @ but the others seem ok (space,[]-_)

    Cheers
    #60
  21. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,359
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    My 4Gb card did this when I first installed it after loading it with new tracks. I waited and waited and nothing. In the end I went to the source button, selected the drive option, highlighted the card I was trying to play and then it played and has done ever since. Seemed weird I should have to do this but then is technology ever 'Plug and Play' these days?!?!?
    #61
  22. royjk
    Offline

    royjk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2008
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 1, 2009]
    The Rnse does not like IDtag 2 only IDtag 1 it is also handy to use a tag editor & a play list creator. I use two free to downloads. Mikey Magic Technologies MP3 Tag editor & Oddgravity play list creator 3.5.
    Max card size SD 4gig & you can only have 512 files & folders on it. Hope this helps,
    #62

Share This Page