1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SD CARD slots on navi plus

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by eugegall, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. eugegall

    eugegall Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All.

    Sorry to keep asking stupid questions but can i put my entire music library onto an SD card then into the unit to play all of my music?

    thanks chaps
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    depends how big your music libray is
     
  4. PH1L

    PH1L Gievf Buckets
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    an then how big your cards are and how new your nav is
     
  5. GConn

    GConn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is an upper limit to how many files and folders a card may have but I can't remember it. I THINK it is 400-500
     
  6. Gonza

    Gonza New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Up to 2gb per slot not the 4gb HC cards
     
  7. GConn

    GConn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 4Gb SD cards, not HC and they work fine. Difficult to find them though.
     
  8. PaulAr

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,073
    Likes Received:
    182
    Ive been unable to get 4gb Sds for ages.

    TIP:

    Make sure when you drag music folders across, that you delete any NON .mp3 files as they can confuse the RNSE.
     
  9. LWNY

    LWNY Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not sure you need 4GB sd card since the number of song limitation prevents it go anywhere near 4GB. That is unless you keep a high bitrate.
     
  10. welshwoody

    welshwoody Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had one 2 GB card at first but then changed to a 4GB, I copied the 2 GB card to the 4 GB one and added a load more albums on top again so Id definately recomend going for the 4 GB card. I actually use 2 4GB cards now. Bought them from ebay and were well worth it.
     
  11. GConn

    GConn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you PM a link? Need some new ones but can't find any. Thanks
     
  12. welshwoody

    welshwoody Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
  13. welshwoody

    welshwoody Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
  14. GConn

    GConn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Currently unavailable mate :) Thanks for trying though
     
  15. welshwoody

    welshwoody Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    1
  16. DJAlix

    DJAlix Comfortably Dumb!
    Audi Sport Owner Group Team Glacier saloon Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A3 S-line

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    111
    When I had a 2009 (192) RNS-E I was using the Transcend 4GB Cards. Older Nintendo branded SD cards will work also.

    If I remember correctly 4GB is the max size and they must be non SDHC. There is a limit to the number of "total" folders (including sub folders) which the unit would understand, so you need to be careful with your organisation. Sorry, cannot remember the limitation figure. There is also a limit on both the total number, individual and combined, of characters for file naming and file path, like old DOS systems it has a maximum pathname length of 64 characters (pathname = folder name(s) plus filename).

    ID3 Tags are limited to v2 or 2.2 as well, I used to set all to v1 to be honest and never had any issues. If you’re on a Mac, show all and then remove all hidden files eg the .ds_store, the RNS-E's get confused by these. cards need to be FAT32 formatted.

    I have a 2010 (193) unit now and am using SDHC 8GB cards, believe the max is 16GB per slot.
     
  17. GConn

    GConn Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Feeler: If I managed to get some non HC 4gb SD cards, who would be interested? I live in Cyprus, so people would need to be patient. I will also need to see what quantities may be requested and what shipping will cost. If it's worth my time I'm willing to give it a go.
     

Share This Page