1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Screen wash level sensor

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Rhodesy, Dec 26, 2013.

  1. Rhodesy
    Offline

    Rhodesy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 26, 2013]
    Should our B7 have a sensor for the screen wash level? Ran out today with no warning.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 15, 2014]

  3. Arnie013
    Offline

    Arnie013 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Dec 27, 2013]
    Don't quote me on this but I think so yes. Every audi I have ever been in has had one apart from my uncles old 80.
    #2
  4. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,041
    Likes Received:
    59
    [Dec 27, 2013]
    definately one on the b6
    connection is behind the passenger side front wheel underneath the wheel arch liner
    #3
  5. SinghB7
    Offline

    SinghB7 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Dec 27, 2013]
    Mine is the same, when it is low it dosn't give me a warning.
    #4
  6. rizzini7
    Offline

    rizzini7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Dec 27, 2013]
    Mine doesn't, assume it depends if it came with full DIS from the factory
    #5
  7. Rhodesy
    Offline

    Rhodesy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 27, 2013]
    Hmmm thanks guys. I would have expected it to have one tbh but perhaps not then? The car has some form of DIS but not the full thing maybe as it only provides basic stuff.

    Think I will have a look behind the wheel arch and will let you know if I find anything.
    #6
  8. kite
    Offline

    kite Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Dec 27, 2013]
    Press the check button and see if the washer warning comes up. It looks like a spouting whale....
    #7
  9. Rhodesy
    Offline

    Rhodesy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 27, 2013]
    No, doesn't come up mate. Just coolant, oil and brakes I think. Can it be easily enabled if the sensor is retro-fitted?
    #8
  10. Paranoid69
    Offline

    Paranoid69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Dec 27, 2013]
    Yup needs to have the full DIS. If you do the retrofit of the DIS upgrade you have a choice, install the sensor into the washer bottle and run a wire back to the back of the dash, or don't do the sensor and just ground a pin on the back of the dash (and do without the warning).
    #9
  11. Paranoid69
    Offline

    Paranoid69 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Dec 27, 2013]
    Apart from that the DIS retrofit is a stalk and VCDS to change some settings, usually done at the same time as adding cruise (as it needs a stalk change too)
    #10
  12. Rhodesy
    Offline

    Rhodesy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 28, 2013]
    Well I topped up the screen wash today and found a wire going to a grommet on the top of the washer bottle. Would this be for the level sensor as I can't imagine what else it is for?
    #11
  13. A4_MaJiK
    Offline

    A4_MaJiK Azeem

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    97
    [Jan 2, 2014]
    I think you might be referring to the overflow pipe here...
    #12
  14. Rhodesy
    Offline

    Rhodesy New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 2, 2014]
    You could b right there bud 😄

    [​IMG]

    Never seen a washer bottle with an overflow before?
    #13
  15. rizzini7
    Offline

    rizzini7 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Jan 2, 2014]
    The sensor goes in the place of a bung near the bottom of the bottle afaik
    #14
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,317
    Likes Received:
    1,227
    [Jan 8, 2014]
    No not all cars have the sensor, it was never a default factory fitted item.
    #15
  17. dentsy
    Offline

    dentsy I HAVE THE OPTION CODES

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Feb 20, 2014]
    Hi, fitted my dis and now got FULL computer functions :)

    just got that damn washer fluid low warning :-(
    #16

Share This Page