SatNav

PigPen

Reaction score
Evening All. I have just be reading that the SatNav unit doesn't allow you to input 7 digit postcodes in which sounds a huge problem to me, is it? How do people cope, is there a software update to overcome this? It sounds like you get a better unit in a Hyundai i10!

It's not a huge problem, trapping your nuts in a car door is a huge problem! I've been using the RNS-E for the last 7 years and never had a problem before. I found the RNS-E far more for accurate than tomtom / garmin. There is no software update or work around.

Do you regularly trap your nuts based on your name B5NUT? Presumably you put in the first few digits? How close does this get you to your destination? It is a wilderness down here!

Just trying to put things in perspective! I've relied on tomtom when using company hire cars before, put in the full post code and set off, it dropped me 4 miles away from where I should be as was in the postcode area (out in the sticks). In 7 years I've only had 1 address the nav could not find and been all over the country and into Europe using an RNS-E.

Only joking! Can you input street names and house numbers?

Yes, once you put the postcode in it will give you a list of streets in that area, once selected it then gives you a choice of number, End Entry or intersection. It's a good system with very comprehensive maps.

Reactions: PigPen
Pretty excited now although I haven't quite wet myself just yet!

Reactions: robbiemac
I agree, I think the lack of full code search is nothing, it takes seconds to input an address anyway even with rns structure so I dont think you'll have any issues at all.

Pretty excited now although I haven't quite wet myself just yet!

IF you have concerns then call me and I will meet you at your Hotel for coffee and to discuss.

But you WILL be ok, really!

The RS3 is a VERY capable (more than you most probably) piece of machinery!

I WILL be there to see the last RS3 being driven away from Stafford Audi.