1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Satnav install

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by damo2009, Sep 7, 2009.

  1. damo2009
    Offline

    damo2009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have an a3 53 shape it as a single slot cd ive got hold off a s3 satnav
    so to install it an i right to think i just chane the air con unit and cup holder is it that simple or is it harder than that
    #1
  2. navnayyar
    Offline

    navnayyar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    you need a new double DIN cage to house the RNS-E new facia surrounds and a double din air controller unit (although you can cut the exiting one to shape if your careful) and some VAG-COM coding
    #2
  3. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    ...and some wiring.

    And either a sharkfin antenna or a clamp-on FAKRA antenna.

    Also the switch panel around the cup holder, plus new switches etc.

    Keith
    #3
  4. davej_anderson
    Offline

    davej_anderson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounds a lot but actually all the parts can be had off ebay or a breaker or even Audi at reasonable cost. I think I paid £150 for all the parts, including a replacement climate control unit.

    I did it last weekend and although it does take some time, it isn't a very technical job to do.
    #4
  5. damo2009
    Offline

    damo2009 New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for your help were will i find somone to do the vag
    #5
  6. heliflyer
    Offline

    heliflyer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2009
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have a look in the vag com page theres a sticky to see if theres anyone who will do it your area , or if you want to buy one i believe NHN sells them at a good price give him a shout cheers Ian
    #6
  7. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    would the sat nav work without the vag coding??
    #7
  8. davej_anderson
    Offline

    davej_anderson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep but you won't have the info displayed in the DIS
    #8
  9. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    i guy local to me has a diagnositic machine, might try him for coding when i do the rns e install, have you got the codes to hand of what needs to be changed to make the rns e work well?
    #9
  10. davej_anderson
    Offline

    davej_anderson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry mate, not to hand, do a search, including the RossTech wiki page.
    As the coding will be specific to the options on your car there isn't a general set of codes to use.

    I'm still to get mine coded...can anyone help with Vag Com in S London?
    #10
  11. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    no problems mate, thanks anyway
    #11
  12. davej_anderson
    Offline

    davej_anderson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page