1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sat Nav Plus TV option?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by The911SC, May 4, 2005.

  1. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi All,
    Anyone know how hard it is to add the TV mode to sat nav plus system?.

    Cheers in advance..
    #1
  2. richy
    Offline

    richy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    892
    Likes Received:
    0
    not hard at all... but that depends on how much cash u have.
    #2
  3. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Give me a clue!..
    I am pretty good at doing this stuff DIY if I have the right parts and info.
    The unit is new style nav plus (sd slot) but doesnt have tv.
    Heard some people have done a complete install so was hoping to get some pointers/part numers etc..
    #3
  4. dunk
    Offline

    dunk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    you need the rns-e tv tuner (they are alot more than the navi-D units - i have seen them go for about 300-350 euros

    you need the tv cable from the boot where the tv tuner lives to the back of navi unit - this cable isnt usually available separately, its part of the car wiring, and doesnt just plug into the back of the navi - you will need to bridge it into the existing navi wiring.

    also the antennas are a pig - you need to get replacement tv compatible antenna amps from the audi dealer, and a new diversity switcher that is tv compatible and swap these out for the existing amps and diversity switcher - these cost about £450 from audi....

    look at http://shop.kufatec.de/ for adapters and cables - email them in english and they will understand fully and reply in english as well.
    #4
  5. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Flippin heck... maybe I'll just buy one of those small tv's and leave it in the glovebox!...
    Thanks for the info
    #5
  6. mikeA2B
    Offline

    mikeA2B Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    0
    And I wouldnt bother with a TV tuner as analogue TV is being scrapped soon so why not get a DVD changer? cost me about £300 all in and no fuzzy picture either and not too hard to do either!
    #6
  7. imported_pcs
    Online

    imported_pcs Guest

    Is the DVD Changer opperated thru the cd/tv button ?
    #7
  8. dunk
    Offline

    dunk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    no it isnt

    you use the tv button to swap to either the audi tv (used as an analog adapter with 2 inputs) or a deitz converter (1 input) but you cant control the auxillary video devices with the head unit - you usually get an IR remote with them
    #8
  9. MingBluS3
    Offline

    MingBluS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    If i wanted to get the Audi DVD RNS-E NAVIGATION SAT/NAV navi Unit for my S3 what facia plate would i need? I'm not sure if i need the A4 or A6 one, can anyone tell me if this can be fitted to the S3's.
    #9
  10. Mcgough
    Offline

    Mcgough Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
    get the A3 one
    #10
  11. MingBluS3
    Offline

    MingBluS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    are you sure? sorry to doubt you but i just dont want to pay out for something that will not fit.

    The A3 one has rounded edges at the top.
    #11
  12. Mcgough
    Offline

    Mcgough Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
    well the a4 is bigger and the a6 bigger again, you would have to cut the face plate slightly, the din slot is exactly the same size
    #12
  13. MingBluS3
    Offline

    MingBluS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can see that would be messy.
    #13
  14. Mcgough
    Offline

    Mcgough Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
    yea! and costly if you got it wrong!
    #14
  15. dunk
    Offline

    dunk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    the a3 rns-3 has rounded corners and itnt going to be a straight fit. you would have to cut all 4 sides.
    #15
  16. dunk
    Offline

    dunk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    i am about to try the a6 rns-e unti in my facelift 2001 s3 for compatibilty and fitting - ill have more info in the next day or 2
    #16
  17. rickquattro
    Offline

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interested in how you get on with this Dunk. Just as an aside, I have done a search and cant find a "how to fit navi plus into an A3" anywhere. Also are the faceplates changable? What items are needed to install it instead of a double din symphony set up? There are loads of Navi Plus units on ebay.de but as I don't speak German but my lass does, she needs to know what to look for.

    I appreciate that this may have been done to death elsewhere but I cant find it!

    Thanks (hopefully)....
    #17
  18. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Was looking on ebay last night and noticed a freeview car tuner. Seemed pretty good (around £120) with phono style outs. Wonder if you linked this via the dietz adapter to the unit if it would work?. It came with aerials and a remote.
    You can get ordinary car tuners with ordinary video style outs so could this just be plugged into the rns-e as an aux input?
    #18
  19. Mcgough
    Offline

    Mcgough Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is what im looking into mate too!
    #19
  20. rickquattro
    Offline

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Dunk, very helpful. My car is the 8L with bose. Very interested in how you get on with the A6 unit into the A3 as there are a lot of these units up on the German ebay site as well as the UK on.

    Once again, thanks for the info.

    Rick
    #20
  21. MingBluS3
    Offline

    MingBluS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me know how you get on too Dunk. I would have thought the A4 unit would be a better fit. I waiting for dimensions of the new A4 unit from this guy on ebay. I've sent him the measurements of my unit.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I really want one of these....
    #21
  22. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Dont pay too much for one though; the nav and gadget parts are great but the basic sound in my view is not as good as symphony.
    #22
  23. rickquattro
    Offline

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I really want one of these....

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Oh ye sprites, ye naughty wee sprites! Yeeeeeees.....

    Cue pan pipes...

    For all you Little Britain lovers out there....
    #23
  24. rickquattro
    Offline

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]


    i have an 8P unit and an A6 unit that i am going to compare fitting size in the 8L a3 - i will take photos .



    [/ QUOTE ]

    On the AudiNav site is a photo of all the Navi+ units showing clearly the faceplate differences. It looks like the A8 is closer to the A3.... Clicky

    Hope this helps
    #24
  25. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    it doesnt help since i get an error message when clicking on your link!
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    #25
  26. rickquattro
    Offline

    rickquattro Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry mate.....

    Try New Clicky

    Its a link to Photobucket.....

    As I said, the A8 faceplate looks closest to the A3.

    Please work, please work....
    #26
  27. a4sline
    Offline

    a4sline Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have TV Tuner for the RNS-E for sale if anyone interested.
    4D0 919 146 C is the part number. Let me know by the end of the weekend as I've a non forum member sniffing !!!
    #27
  28. MingBluS3
    Offline

    MingBluS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    i sent you a PM a4sline
    #28
  29. dunk
    Offline

    dunk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    done a bit more research about rns-e in older audi models:

    on the rns-e models, only the a6 unit has a gala input - all the other models use gala over the can-bus

    the older a3 and b5 a4 doesnt put gala over the can-bus, so you can only successfully integrate an a6 model into the a3/s3 with any ease.

    the a6 model seems to be the right height top to bottom as well, leaving only the left and right sides needing cutting to get a good fit.

    models with can-bus (post facelift) can use the can-bus for radio/nav display on the dis anyway and also have canbus signals for the lights being on and the ignition on - this means you only have to connect the can-bus from the back of the navi to the intruments ( you may already have these wires, particularly with symphony II radios or older satnav plus) and the existing radio gala wire to the rns-e v wire and the whole thing integrates nicely.
    #29
  30. MingBluS3
    Offline

    MingBluS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    dunk, have you got any further with this?
    #30
  31. stratos
    Offline

    stratos Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Interested in how you get on with this Dunk. Just as an aside, I have done a search and cant find a "how to fit navi plus into an A3" anywhere. Also are the faceplates changable? What items are needed to install it instead of a double din symphony set up? There are loads of Navi Plus units on ebay.de but as I don't speak German but my lass does, she needs to know what to look for.

    I appreciate that this may have been done to death elsewhere but I cant find it!

    Thanks (hopefully)....

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Try this link for the new A3. Might be useful with some alteration

    http://homepage.ntlworld.com/bah.bah1/index.htm
    #31

Share This Page