1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sat Nav Plus (RNS-D)

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by JamS3, Aug 14, 2006.

  1. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Aug 14, 2006]
    Iv'e just managed to get a Sat Nav Plus unit part no 8E0 035 192 B (think its RNS-D) from a A4 which I'm about to fit to my S3 replacing the Symphony 2 head unit.

    Few questions...

    Will I now need a CD changer in order to play music or can a CD go in the slot where the navigation CD goes in the front of the head unit? If so I take it you can't navigate and listen to music at the same time unless you have a CD changer in the boot?

    My S3 has BOSE will I need the system recoding for this and how easy is it? My mate has vag com and things like that and I don't really want to loose the BOSE sound.

    Lastly if I do need a CD changer will all the wiring already be there in the boot for it seeing as though I had a Symphony 2 with a 6 disc front loader?

    It's a A4 unit but apparently ll that needs doing is the facia trimming down on it to fit my dash and other than that it should be plug and play...

    Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 21, 2014]

  3. Jampublic
    Offline

    Jampublic Taking it easy..

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Aug 14, 2006]
    I can't help, but sounds good! Would be good to see pictures once your finished, since I had the same thoughts about SAT NAV.

    See if there is any hope for us 2001 vehicles : )

    Good luck
    #2
  4. AndyM
    Offline

    AndyM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 14, 2006]
    The slot on the nav+ unit is for nav CD only, for music you need a CD changer or phatbox.
    Id doubt the changer cable is fitted if you had a front changer, although you could check that easily by looking in the lefthand rear cubbyhole, at the front of the wheel arch for the end of the cable.

    Dont know about the BOSE Id assum eit has to be changed over for BOSE setup. My nav+ has never shown any notification of BOSE even though I have BOSE system
    #3
  5. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Aug 15, 2006]
    Anyone know if fitting a A4 sat nav plus unit into a S3 will be a pain in the backside or will be not so bad??
    #4
  6. larsmate
    Offline

    larsmate Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Aug 16, 2006]
    #5
  7. JamS3
    Offline

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Aug 16, 2006]
    Excellent larsmate that will be really helpful, I was beginning to panic the A4 unit might not be compatible with my S3!!
    #6

Share This Page