1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-19100 not downloading phone book to RNS E MMI

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by mikeyboyz, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. mikeyboyz
    Offline

    mikeyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I have been trying to get my Samsung Galaxy S2 GT-19100 to download the phone book to the RNS E MMI. I have searched for bluetooth from the phone and it finds the device AUDI UHV 5468, which it pairs to and shows signal strength and works.

    The phone then prompts me if i want to allow AUDI UHV 5468 to access my phone book, I have selected yes and ticked don't prompt again.

    The phone book does not download!!! The phone will work if i dial from the phone, or if i use the speech button on the multi function steering wheel, but no contacts ever load into the MMI.

    The RNS E MMI does have two SD card slots and i have tried copying the contacts onto there but still no joy!

    I have just ordered the VAG COM software and cable in a vain hope i could recode something but it does not look promising.

    Does anyone have any ideas on this problem??

    Best Regards,

    Mike
    #1
  2. klik
    Offline

    klik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    10
    i had the same phone which worked perfect both with regular BT through AUDI UHV as well as the optional rSAP. Did you wait long enough? The 1st time it takes about 5 min or more to download the contacts.
    #2
  3. mikeyboyz
    Offline

    mikeyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thx for the msg,I have left it connected for well over an hour. Also tried reseting user data on mmi and re-adding phone.
    I tried saving a number to the phone and one to the sim, followed by a bt recconect, still no joy!
    If i press the telephone button on rns e it just say how to answer/cancel/and ignore call.
    V frustrating.
    #3
  4. klik
    Offline

    klik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    10
    Then, I would look elsewhere...like restoring your phone or updating. what version are you running?
    #4
  5. mikeyboyz
    Offline

    mikeyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0

    Hey Mate,

    Sorry been offline for a bit! My phone is running ICS android version 4.0.3 model GT 19100. The RNS E coding is 229217, boot version V220100D AND SYSTEM SOFTWARE INDEX 0650 HW index H99.

    That's as much as I know.

    thanks,

    Mike.
    #5
  6. jasonc
    Offline

    jasonc Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    29
    Have you been able to use other phones successfully with your RNS-E?

    When I first installed my RNS-E the Phonebook didn't sync (with an iPhone) and I had to enable the "comfort" feature with VCDS to get it working.
    #6
  7. klik
    Offline

    klik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    10
    My guess is that the problem is with the phone and not the RNS-E. If I were you, I would backup my phone and perform a factory reset. There is a newer ICS ver 4.0.4 as well. Is your phone locked to a specific provider? have you rooted your phone? In case you have rooted your phone you could clear BT cache with titanium backup before performing a factory reset.
    Sorry, but I don't have any other suggestion.

    Good luck!
    #7
  8. mikeyboyz
    Offline

    mikeyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    Thanks again for post's. I'm going to try a nokia later tonight the Iphone 4 does not work! hopefully nokia will, not that it solve my prob!
    Phone is locked to vodafone but I don't no how to unlock? The phone has not tried to update so I guess vodafone have not released it yet.

    My phone has not been rooted i don't think, i have not touched it just standard vodafone ics install.

    Mike.
    #8
  9. Jameze
    Offline

    Jameze James

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    82
    I can confirm this was my problem too. Without the comfort setting being activated on VCDS, at the bottom of the RNS-E screen where the time / signal is shown there was no bluetooth icon. I could use everything as usual and call people, just couldn't sync my phonebook. As soon as the comfort setting was enabled, the bluetooth icon appeared and my phonebook appeared! Do you have a bluetooth icon?

    The bottom of your screen should look something like this (note the bluetooth icon)...

    [​IMG]
    #9
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    You need to code rns 5th digit as a 7 & also code comfort in bt module aswell or it wont show up advanced info.
    #10
  11. bing
    Offline

    bing Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI there
    I have the samsung galaxy S3 and it has just had an update.......result no phone book available to car..

    fiddled around with phone and found out all your contacts need to be in "My contacts" on samsung phones
    mine were all stored under "not defined" so Audi bluetooth could not find them.

    just move them all to "My contacts" then audi bluetooth will pick them up.

    hope this helps
    #11
  12. mikeyboyz
    Offline

    mikeyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    Been out spending money on VCDS etc. I generated the code from the RNS-E coding.com website, software coding 0209727 which was the same as my original setup. There were some other minor changes made like Tyre size for navigation in VCDS. The document the site generated also suggested that i set my CAN-Gateway code byte 03 bit 5 0F, which was not ticked this means digital radio to ticked which now shows as an error on a auto scan now so I have mailed them on that.

    Still no phone book access though with even Nokia, the RNS-E does not show the Bluetooth symbol when connected.
    I have also just got the 4.0.4 Samsung upgrade from Vodafone. the contacts are saved to my contacts in phone.

    I assume the RNS-E code generated, enables comfort mode? if not could someone explain how to enable using VCDS?. NHN, do you mean 5th & 7th digit in CAN-Gateway config?
    Not sure if i mentioned the car is fitted with BOSE and has SDS, can't imagine that would make any difference with this problem thou.

    Madness!!! any ideas?

    Thanks Again,

    Mike
    #12
  13. klik
    Offline

    klik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    10
    Try to sync your contacts with your Google account.
    #13
  14. jasonc
    Offline

    jasonc Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    29
    This code does enable comfort mode (5th digit = 7). You have also enabled digital radio and cd changer (6th and 7th digits) - do you have these installed?

    Full explanation of the coding is here:

    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/wiki/index.php/Audi_Radio/Navigation_System_(RNS-E)#Coding

    After you have put the correct coding in it may be necessary to reset the RNS-E by removing the cables from the back for a few seconds - I had to do this with mine to make it behave correctly.
    #14
  15. mikeyboyz
    Offline

    mikeyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jason,

    Thanks will try and update this weekend

    Mike
    #15
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Also I9100 with new Jelly Bean 4.1.2 beta seems to work fine for phonebook.
    #16
  17. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    i dont mean to be condescending here but have you set the permissions within the bluetooth for the phone to share the contacts with the car, afaik the android bluetooth interface is pretty solid and ive run 3 android phones and a whole range including expreimental builds
    #17
  18. mikeyboyz
    Offline

    mikeyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All, just realised VCDS 11.11 will not let me set the comfort mode to hi. It errors saying out of range, any ideas?

    Mike.
    #18
  19. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Ok 1st, which module are you coding, 77 or 37, whats the module 77 part no, shows this when logged into module in one of the top boxes, should be 8P0862335 with letter on end & what is your coding trying to enter.
    #19
  20. mikeyboyz
    Offline

    mikeyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,

    I have re-coded 37 & 77, the part number is 8P0 863 335 Dand now the phone connects and downloads contacts from the sim only, these are only displayed in the speedo and navigated using the MFS, this is great, but now the RNS-E screen displays SIM where it did before show the signal strength of the vodafone network.

    I thought the numbers and call lists would show on the rNS-E screen?

    Thx

    Mike.
    #20
  21. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Recoded to what?
    #21
  22. mikeyboyz
    Offline

    mikeyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    37 > 0209727
    77 >0011422
    adap
    133 > 1
    134 > 0
    135> 1234
    #22
  23. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    You'll need to update the bt module to a comfort version as the sim display shows its not comfort compatible.

    I supply the latest version if interested.
    #23
  24. mikeyboyz
    Offline

    mikeyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will that version display the numbers on the RNS_E Screen? or just display the sim signal?
    #24
  25. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Comfort compatible means full integration, so no it wont show phonebooks & thus needs an upgraded module.
    #25
  26. mikeyboyz
    Offline

    mikeyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, is this a software update? or hardware?
    #26
  27. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    I supply the latest version hardware module.
    #27
  28. mikeyboyz
    Offline

    mikeyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    How much, and what version?
    #28
  29. mikeyboyz
    Offline

    mikeyboyz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will this version display all contacts through the main screen? and is it a slide out and in job?
    #29
  30. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,237
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Yes
    #30

Share This Page