1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S4/RS4 Rear disc conversion kit,

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by S3 Paul, Jan 30, 2009.

1. S3 Paul

S3 Paul Active Member

After looking at my rear brakes through the wheels ive been thinking could i help my poor stopping power by looking at these too?
    I have noticed from time to time a guy an Ebay lists a 300mm (ish) rear disc set up for the 8l S3 , I wish i had saved the link but... its basicaly a pair of rear RS4 discs i think he said although i think they turned out to be S4 items re drilled to 5x100 pcd and a mounting bracket to space your rear calliper out to the correct diameter.
    The before and after pictures did look realy good and like factory but better ( which i like) but does anybody think this would work?
    The kit was about £300 pounds, I am a CNC programmer/ setter so making the discs and even the braket seems not too taxing an option...
  2. Mr.G

Mr.G Active Member

I cant see why it wouldn't work paul. Bigger discs with a machined spacer to bring the caliper out makes perfect sense.

I once had an RB5 on which i purchased Peter Solbergs actual Alcon calipers from his then WRC car. Bought them off someone local to me after a visit to prodrive, paid around £900 for a 335mm disc, spacer for the caliper and the titanium one piece 4 pots.

The brakes were loud/sqeeky and rattled as the pad had no spring mechanism to tension the pad and stop it from moving about a few mm inside the caliper but boy did they work. Best brakes on a car i've ever used. When i had them fitted i had to do an emergency stop to test them, the back end of the car almost (felt like) it lifted off the floor. Needless to say i had some rears done shortly after! LOL

I'd be interested in the progression of this, think the S3 standard setup is ****! You could be the one to change that for a reasonable price! :)

G
  3. HTC

HTC Active Member