1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

s4 instrument cluster in a4

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by olds_kool, Nov 8, 2008.

  1. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    fitted some s4 clocks i got of ebay to my 1.8tqs
    they had a new dis screen fitted so figured it would be cheaper than having mine fixed
    was never keen on the white dials, so now ive got light grey with white needles
    wasnt even sure if theyd work but no probs so far
    any comments welcome

    before
    [​IMG]

    after
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 18, 2014]

  3. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,768
    Likes Received:
    321
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    I like that Kev, how did you get passed the immo?
    #2
  4. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    nice job i like it! did you match up the mileage? if so how, also would like to know about the immobilser as well.
    #3
  5. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    cheers mark, used vagtacho cable/software to read 4 digit skc, then followed vagcom instructions to replace cluster
    #4
  6. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    vagtacho again to correct mileage, couple of 1000 miles out as you have to enter it in km and i got fed up of guessing
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,845
    Likes Received:
    350
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    #6
  8. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    cheers, sat nav thats fitted in place of vent has a conversion function but id forgot about it!
    #7
  9. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    that sav nav looks a neat install. when you get a chance post some more pics please. :hi::o.k:
    #8
  10. ALPINE
    Offline

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Nov 8, 2008]
    shexy! i wish i could change my mileage now i have the new engine!
    #9
  11. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 9, 2008]
    alpine, legally cluster mileage should relate to shell/chassis not engine and adjusting would make car seem dodgy to anyone checking mot's etc

    raz, few more pics, its a garmin nuvi 200 cheap but quite impressive, guy on audizine worked out it was a perfect fit if you pull vent out
    also it logs max speed reached which got me a telling off from mrs

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #10
  12. rasA4
    Offline

    rasA4 Four Rings Mafia Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 9, 2008]
    cheers thats a neat and tidy fit is it secured in anyway to prevent theft? i suppose if they want something they will take it etc...

    also as i understand it seen the lead on fleebay for the vagtacho. is it just a matter of buying the lead loading the software, and entering the code from your old clock and entering the new code and hey presto?? sounds too easy to be this simple?

    thanks
    #11
  13. olds_kool
    Offline

    olds_kool Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,072
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 9, 2008]
    its a push in fit so i dont leave it in overnight, its pin protected but rather not have my window smashed for theivin gits to find that out

    vagtacho lead plugs in via obd and then you select type of instruments (vdo old for our cars) if it can connect! its press a button for the function you want, read skc, change mileage etc
    if adding a new cluster you fit new one then read skc, then switch to vagcom lead to match ecu/keys using skc you just read

    i replaced cluster in my tdi for a brand new one (ebay, old dealer stock) and i had to drive it round the block before it would let me change mileage as it wouldnt connect to clocks with zero miles on it?
    #12
  14. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2008]
    Nice i do like the S4 clocks.
    #13

Share This Page