1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S4 brake caliper upgrade

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by adidasandy, May 9, 2012.

  1. adidasandy
    Offline

    adidasandy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 9, 2012]
    I have a S4 B5 with B6 discs, what caliper upgrade would be ideal, RS4's?
    #1
  2. LeeT
    Offline

    LeeT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 9, 2012]
    Ive got 6 pot Cayenne turbo calipers to go on. Forget RS4's, they are £500 for a pair of discs. I'll be running mercedes ml55 discs which can be had for as little as £45 a pair.
    #2
  3. CraigG
    Offline

    CraigG Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 10, 2012]
    so you already have B6 S4 setup on the front?

    if so, why are you wanting to upgrade?
    #3
  4. HEKTOR
    Offline

    HEKTOR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    12
    [May 10, 2012]
    Andy, go with what lee has said. I think thats the best setup for our cars.

    Im not a fan of my b7 brakes, if i had the money i think i would go for the 6 pot porsche calipers and if ml discs can be had for that little then i would be delighted as the rs4 discs are £600+ from the dealers im sure and can be had from a few places for a little less. If you do got b7 then get the phaeton discs as they are half the price of the b7 discs. You will need the b7 bell to make the disc fit as the phaeton's bell is the wrong offset .

    Craig, andy has the b6 discs and uses the movit 4 pot calipers.
    #4
  5. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,456
    Likes Received:
    445
    [May 10, 2012]
    going from movit 4 pots on a 345mm B6 S4 disk, to Cayennes on a 345mm Merc disk, isnt really an upgrade at all... Its just a different set of components achieving exactly the same thing.
    #5
    adidasandy likes this.

Share This Page