1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S4 B6 Timing Chain Noise

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by PMGIRE, Dec 9, 2009.

1. PMGIRE

PMGIRE New Member

[Dec 9, 2009]
    :sos:Hi folks.Newbie here.I recently bought an S4 B6 shape.Im looking to pick the brains of felllow S4 V8 owners to get feedback on the noise im experiencing.
    Im pretty sure it is the timing chain tensioners/adjusters making this noise.
    Well MRC tuning diagnosed it as the tensioners.
    It appears when you start up and it lasts for 4/5 seconds then goes.If I switch the engine off and back on straight away it wont be noisy,apparently as there is oil in the adjusters.
    The noise will re-appear after ,maybe 15/20 mins when the oil drains out.The car has only done 35k and has been main dealer service.
    Has anyone had similar experience?Im getting it diagnosed at the minute but just wanted to put the feelers out.I believe it is a problem on this engine,not at 35k miles.

Cheers
  2. Ads

Ads

[Nov 26, 2014]

3. quattrojames

quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

[Dec 9, 2009]
    :sign_welcome:

Have a search through the forum, I've read about this before, I think it's a common feature/problem.
  4. chunky79

chunky79 Member

[Dec 10, 2009]
    This is a well known problem and nothing to worry about as long as you take the car of long life servicing.
  5. dualmono21

dualmono21 Well-Known Member

[Dec 10, 2009]
    mine does exactly the same but within a couple of seconds its pumped full of oil and back to silky smooth
    i can leave it a good couple of hours and still no problem
    but if left overnight the same thing occurs
    this is a very common thing on the s4 if it ever becomes noisy ALL the time then be prepared fr a big bill but otherwise itll be fine just make sure its topped up with oil and its serviced reguarly
  6. heli_madken

heli_madken Member

[Dec 11, 2009]