1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 Window Regulator replacement

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by mark_S3, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. mark_S3

    mark_S3 Team Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    230
    Guys/Girls

    Yesterday i put the O/S window down and once it hit the bottom there was a loud 'crunch' type noise and before you know it, the window wouldn't go back up. So glad it was sunny in Wakefield yesterday as i had a ten mile journey with the window down.

    Anyway once i got home, i popped off the door card and found the window regulator cables have snapped. Now I'm presuming i just need to replace this as I'm sure the motor works because once you touch the switch the motor wants to move but cannot due to the loose wire cable wrapped around.
    So I'm going to order a new Window Regulator kit and replace that. Is that all i need to do? And how hard is it to replace?

    I've read up that i need to pop the old rivots out and can replace with nuts and bolts.

    Has anyone got a guide to replacing the regulator or can write a description of what to do, and also what bolts/nuts i need to replace the rivots?

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks
    Mark
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. mark_S3

    mark_S3 Team Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    230
    And also, yes i've searched the forum and found little help.

    Just like now. Tried to find out how much coolant is in the system as i plan on doing a full flush and renew the antifreeze with G12+, but after 45mins on the search function with 'coolant', 'antifreeze', 'fluids', 'G12+', etc and still i haven't found the simple answer.

    How much fluid is in the coolant system so i know how much G12+ to buy? I know its a 60/40 mix with water.

    Thank you.....
     
  4. WorkInProgress

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm interested in this too, have found some useful threads on this and have just bought this off Ebay, mine is a 5dr but I imagine fairly similar process. Had a look today and I think you'll need to remove the door subframe to get access to everything.

    Have a look here to see if that's of any use to you
     
  5. Alex C

    Alex C Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User Audi S3

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,970
    Likes Received:
    242
  6. mark_S3

    mark_S3 Team Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    230
    Thank You guys.... Thats the info I needed, and now I have the stressful job to do.
     
  7. vanilla_ice

    vanilla_ice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thread revival.

    It appears my cable has snapped. Window doesn't go up or down. Can hear motor run for a short while when I click the window up.

    Is this part suitable for the repair? - http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Audi-A3-8...t-2-3-doors-Front-right-AU32RST-/141379171591

    Is it worth getting genuine window clips to replace the included clips, or are the included clips unlikely to fail?

    Following this guide in the stickies, is it only the one rivet to drill out to carry out the repair?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  8. vanilla_ice

    vanilla_ice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    9
  9. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,011
    Likes Received:
    2,299
    I'll let you know when it happens to mine :)

    ...although I would probably use genuine kit...

    <tuffty/>
     
  10. vanilla_ice

    vanilla_ice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks <tuffty/>. Would you know if there is such a thing as a genuine repair kit, or would you source a second hand unit?
     
  11. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,011
    Likes Received:
    2,299
    I doubt its genuine but if you look on partsbase.org (link in the parts number sticky) then you can at least see what VAG do in terms of a 'kit'

    I suspect not as 'repair kits' like this are generally in response to a recognised problem and the cars are too old for VAG to worry about sadly so its left to the aftermarket to make up the shortfall

    <tuffty/>
     
    vanilla_ice likes this.
  12. rhinopower

    rhinopower Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    20
    Good luck fitting that kit! tried for hours, the cable was either too long or too short, its still sat there broken.
     
    vanilla_ice likes this.
  13. vanilla_ice

    vanilla_ice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    9
    Did you ever fix your window @mark_S3 ?

    If so how?
     
  14. mark_S3

    mark_S3 Team Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    230
    Yeah i managed to fix the problem but not without its issues.

    I brought a new regulator cable kit off ebay (contained cable and clips)
    I then fitted this, but wasn't long before what I believe the cable jumped off and wrapped it self's around the motor pully which kinked the cable.

    So for over 12months I went without a working window until I purchased a 2nd frame with working regulator and motor. (I cleaned this up and greased the pullies) then fitted this. No issues since...

    [​IMG]
     
    vanilla_ice likes this.
  15. vanilla_ice

    vanilla_ice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    9
    Many thanks, I was thinking I might go down the same route.

    Any alignment issues when refitting? The guide suggests marking the wedges etc. Can you share any advice on that?
     
    mark_S3 likes this.
  16. mark_S3

    mark_S3 Team Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    230
    Unfortunately all my marks where on my old frame.
    I took some measurements off these marks on my old frame, to get it aligned to somewhat a rough position. Then I had to keep tweaking the frame into the perfect position.
    There's some fettling and tweaking to get it right but it's not hard tbh. Just some extra time doing it.
     
    vanilla_ice likes this.
  17. rhinopower

    rhinopower Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    20
    I bought a new frame from scrappy today for £20, will put my new clips on and bolt it in tomorrow.
     
    vanilla_ice likes this.
  18. vanilla_ice

    vanilla_ice Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    9
    How did you get on?
     
  19. rhinopower

    rhinopower Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    20
    Absolute doddle to fit. I lined it up with the marks i made from the old frame, and it lined up perfect when i closed the door. The new frame looked like it had a recent replacement regulator too so double win :)
     
    vanilla_ice likes this.

Share This Page