1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 Window Regulator replacement

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by mark_S3, Nov 26, 2012.

  1. mark_S3
    Online

    mark_S3 Yorkshire & Humber Events Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    191
    Guys/Girls

    Yesterday i put the O/S window down and once it hit the bottom there was a loud 'crunch' type noise and before you know it, the window wouldn't go back up. So glad it was sunny in Wakefield yesterday as i had a ten mile journey with the window down.

    Anyway once i got home, i popped off the door card and found the window regulator cables have snapped. Now I'm presuming i just need to replace this as I'm sure the motor works because once you touch the switch the motor wants to move but cannot due to the loose wire cable wrapped around.
    So I'm going to order a new Window Regulator kit and replace that. Is that all i need to do? And how hard is it to replace?

    I've read up that i need to pop the old rivots out and can replace with nuts and bolts.

    Has anyone got a guide to replacing the regulator or can write a description of what to do, and also what bolts/nuts i need to replace the rivots?

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Thanks
    Mark
    #1
  2. mark_S3
    Online

    mark_S3 Yorkshire & Humber Events Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    191
    And also, yes i've searched the forum and found little help.

    Just like now. Tried to find out how much coolant is in the system as i plan on doing a full flush and renew the antifreeze with G12+, but after 45mins on the search function with 'coolant', 'antifreeze', 'fluids', 'G12+', etc and still i haven't found the simple answer.

    How much fluid is in the coolant system so i know how much G12+ to buy? I know its a 60/40 mix with water.

    Thank you.....
    #2
  3. WorkInProgress
    Offline

    WorkInProgress Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm interested in this too, have found some useful threads on this and have just bought this off Ebay, mine is a 5dr but I imagine fairly similar process. Had a look today and I think you'll need to remove the door subframe to get access to everything.

    Have a look here to see if that's of any use to you
    #3
  4. Alex C
    Offline

    Alex C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,638
    Likes Received:
    152
    #4
  5. mark_S3
    Online

    mark_S3 Yorkshire & Humber Events Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    191
    Thank You guys.... Thats the info I needed, and now I have the stressful job to do.
    #5

Share This Page