1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 to A3 2.0 TFSI...is it a downgrade?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by hwmin, Apr 12, 2005.

1. hwmin

hwmin New Member

[Apr 12, 2005]
    This has become such a dilemma! I have been driving the S3 (210 bhp) for 4 years now. After reading all the wonderful reviews on the new A3, the desire to change is mounting, daily.

No question it's a step down performance wise, but the 4 door and bigger interior on the new A3 is a big incentive, let alone the new look and the DSG gearbox.

Has anyone gone from S3 to the 2.0 TFSI? How would you rate the overall performance and handling?

Better yet, if given a choice between the 2.0 TFSI and the 3.2 Quattro, what would be your choice, assuming petrol cost is not a factor? I am just curious on how you would rate the performance and handling between the two models.

Thanks very much!
  2. Ads

Ads

[Sep 16, 2014]

3. Cupramax

Cupramax Uber pimp meister

[Apr 12, 2005]
    I've gone from a Leon Cupra R which is basically S3 running gear minus the 4wd to a Sportback 2.0T Quattro and am well pleased with it. Its only slightly slower than the Leon was but the power spread is much wider than the 1.8T engine so you really dont notice it. Its almost like driving a normally aspirated car in fact. As you say, the new body is a lot roomier inside. I drove a 3.2 for a day on test drive as well and although it sounded fantastic the car felt very front heavy to me so I opted for the 2.0T. To be honest you'd be pushed to notice the difference as there's only half a second to 60 between them.... plus there are remaps appearing now for the 2.0T giving 3.2 performance.
  4. brandona4

brandona4 Member

[Apr 12, 2005]
    I've driven both and think the 3.2 kicks ass. The 2.0T is sweet, but not blistering. If petrol isn't a factor, you'd be nuts not to go for a 3.2.
  5. nervus

nervus Well-Known Member