1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

S3 Steering Box replacement?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by ras, Oct 4, 2012.

  1. ras
    Offline

    ras New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello from Bulgaria! Please excuse my poor english!
    I have S3 production year 2000 with APY engine... and i have a problem with the steering box - it needs to be replaced!
    Unfortunatly i cant find a steering box for S3 :(
    My question is can i use a steering box from A3 1,8T FWD with my S3 tie rods ???
    Some people here say they fit and some say they dont - so i am asking you for help please!
    Thank you.

    Attached Files:

    #1
  2. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    The S3 has a Quicker steering rack TT ones will fit ?
    #2
  3. ras
    Offline

    ras New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    What does this mean? I could use the A3 steering rack but it will have a wider turn radius? Or it doesnt fit?
    Should i be looking for a TT 225ps steering rack or any TT will do?
    #3
  4. Vex182
    Online

    Vex182 Guess what I drive...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    58
    I think if you don't use a TT/ S3 then it will cause problems with the sensors for steering wheel angle. E.g ESP won't work and warning lights will be showing.
    #4
  5. Sevv
    Offline

    Sevv Pushing the limits..

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    116
    ebay is your friend mate if you can find them... check people breaking there cars but as the guys said better off sticking with an S3 steering rack
    #5
  6. ras
    Offline

    ras New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    I will definitely get S3 steering rack if I find one...
    In the meantime maybe i will try A3 rack
    if only ESP doesn't work that's even better i always turn it off anyway ;)
    #6
  7. Sevv
    Offline

    Sevv Pushing the limits..

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    116

    wat is the point of doing the job twice?
    #7
  8. ras
    Offline

    ras New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Because I need the car and i dont have S3 rack yet ... S3 is rare in Bulgaria :( im still searching
    I have only A3 rack for now.... so i'll try it to see if it fits.
    #8
  9. Sevv
    Offline

    Sevv Pushing the limits..

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    116
    buy one from the uk if u drive on the same side of the road .. not sure if they are different but i would assume so...
    #9
  10. 16Klappe
    Online

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,228
    Likes Received:
    877
    So much bad information; well I'm not sure if it is bad or just terribly written.

    NO 8L platform car has a steering box; they are all rack and pinion steering design. So stop saying box, you may find that is why you can't get hold of one.

    In answer to the OP's question; yes an A3 rack will physically fit in place of the S3 rack. And it will work.

    The A3's steering rack is 3.5 turns from lock to lock, where as an S3/TT/Leon Cupra R is 2.7 turns from lock to lock and any rack from those vehicles will fit. The overall turning circle of the vehicle would not change between the two racks, just the number of turns needed to get there.

    The issue with retrofitting the steering racks into facelift A3's is that some people experience issues with the ESP kicking in on long sweeping bends, because the ESP sees a difference in wheel speeds that does not correspond with the steering wheel input, because the gearing in the rack is different. So that should work in reverse for this one, because the ESP system will think you have turned the wheel more than you have.

    The steering angle sensor is in the column and not in the rack.
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2012
    #10
  11. ras
    Offline

    ras New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the explanation. I was using box instead of rack because thats how it appears in the vagcat parts catalogue.
    My problem is that in my country there are very few S3s and its hard to find 2nd hand parts.
    Maybe a rack for TT will be easier to find... As I understand it is the same as S3 rack?
    Does it matter if its a FWD or quattro?
    Thank you for the help, again!
    #11
  12. 16Klappe
    Online

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,228
    Likes Received:
    877
    Nope FWD or Quattro, any 8L chassis Leon Cupra R, TT or S3 rack will go.
    #12
  13. ras
    Offline

    ras New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks 16klappe you get a beer on me if you come to Bulgaria! :)
    #13
  14. Reesy
    Offline

    Reesy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3,610
    Likes Received:
    133
    I would try and get hold of a quattro one if I were you.

    I fitted an LCR rack to my A3 quattro (to get the shorter lock to lock) and one of the hard pipes hit the prop. It did bend out the way, but I'd say you're better off just getting an s3 or quattro TT rack.
    #14

Share This Page